Revolt again

Pal Pratima
Digital Narratives
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2023
Photo by the author

21.04.2023 | Day 4 | Production Exercise 2

Taking into account the data collected from the audiences at the Freies Werkstatt Theater (FWT) we defined the we are addressing. We looked at the following three categories:

  1. The existing audience
  2. The audience, FWT wishes for
  3. The audience we wish for

The existing audience for the play REVOLT. SHE SAID. REVOLT AGAIN are mostly women. It was interesting for me to observe that whenever we discuss the topic of feminism the men feel targeted and so they try to distance themselves from it. Which is ironic as at least from my perspective women are bit harsh on men. There is an obvious lack of empathy due to the fast paced, demanding world we live in and power structure plays a major role. If more men were to see the play it would be an interesting tool for them to empathize with the cause of feminism.

I thought the audience FWT wishes for was a challenging category. That was the young audience age group 20–35. This audience largely comprises of people starting with their career and hence often short on money. But also with no shortage of means of entertainment.

As I went to see the play for the second time today, I observed the spontaneity and the improvisation from the actors. The beauty of a stage performance is that each time is a different experience. I was happy to find more men in the audience and they were actively cheering, clapping and interacting with the actors. I often find theatres to be a place that inspires creativity. It was very nostalgic to find many similarities with theatres in Mumbai. I observed that stage actors are the same breed across the world. I was also happy that few more words got added to my limited Deutsch vocabulary : )

--

--

Pal Pratima
Digital Narratives

A compassionate filmmaker who deals in human issues and psychological responses.