5 Reasons Why South Korea should be the top of city for digital nomads

Lucy Jeong
Digital Nomad Guide
4 min readMay 13, 2016

When I asked a person about South Korea, a person answered “Yeah, I know Gangnam Style!!”

It is really a source of pride. But, It means many people exactly don’t know about Korea. So, I’d like show you several fact for digital nomad. Because I’m the digital nomad(particularly tech nomad) and I’m living current in South of Korea. So, I’d like to share good something as being digital nomad.

1. Safety is top of world

left is Seoul, right is Washington by nomadlist

As you know, Korea is only a divided country(the South and the North of Korea). But, when you visit to Korea, you can catch the fact nobody cared at one go off. Also, you will don’t care about it during visiting in Korea.

When you search “Seoul”(capital of South of Korea) in Nomadlist, you can see this result. One of reasons, possession of guns is illegal in Korea. Second of reasons, Korea is racially homogeneous nation. So, there is no Religious conflict and no racial discrimination conflict.

I have one episode, when I have been to Europe, I could not put stuff on the table. Even, my friend was stolen iPhone holding her hands. That’s ridiculous compare to Korea, even if you look like tourist! I always put iPhone, Macbook on coffee shop table whenever I go to toilet in Korea.

2. Internet speed is top of the world

Internet speed is very important to digital nomads. So, this statistic is perfectly meaningful. If you upload and download something, you absolutely can get this mean.

see top of right MBPS(internet speed unit)

Also, Korea has complete Infrastructure. Infrastructure isn’t synonymous to internet. It mean you can get easily wifi anywhere such as coffee shop, subway and bus for free!

3.English is the second language.

Korean is sure to have books about English. English is the regular course in school. I have learned English over 10 years and I went to English academy as many student do.

4. public transport is perfect!

Seoul subway map

Seoul’s public transportation is good and clear. like this subway map, you can go anywhere through subway. I think the place we want is likely to be connected.

Also, It is pretty cheap. Public transport fee is about $1 and you can transfer four time paying for some extra cost under $1. And you can buy public transport card namely T-money to convenience store and any subway station. even, the card design is pretty cool! (It’s really important to me :)

public transport card(T-money)

5. We have Jeju island!!!!!

Jeju island is 14th racking in Nomadlist. It is pretty high racking :) I think the reason is weather and cool nature. Jeju’s weather is pretty warm as tropical fruit is growing! As resort of Korean, jeju’s nature is awesome! I can’t express it just see! I think these features is really attractive to digital nomads.

on spring

These days, Jeju city is trying to gather digital nomad. Currently, coworking space in jeju offered space for free to digital nomad during a couple of months. I applied it that time, I dropped it…because of a native..:(

I visited last month with my team member. So, we lived be a digital nomad during a week. All of team member were satisfied about nomadlife such as accommodation, food and travel! You can see our nomadlife below the video.

--

--

Lucy Jeong
Digital Nomad Guide

Hello I'm Lucy of NomadC, digitalnomad team. Now We are developing Wordot iOS app :)