How I got my first contract in Upwork

Eslam el Khateeb
Digital Nomad Journal
3 min readDec 21, 2019
Laptop, mug, notepad, mobile are all you need as a freelancer.
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Getting your first Upwork contract is not easy. and finding a job among all of those jobs and good talents is not impossible. but you have to use a strategy. I just joined Upwork last week as a part of my decision of becoming a digital nomad.

I was ignorant in the first days and very enthusiastic about getting a job. I thought that my experiences in SEO and content writing will get me a job right away. but this was not the case as all employers need to see your portfolio to make sure that you can deliver what they need.

I kept applying on jobs with no strategy or aim and lost many Connects during the way.

Then I watched this video that helped me and here is the summary.

  • Search with the most keyword that you can prove your experience on it (Portfolio or previous job)
  • Filter your search by the newest because old jobs might already be taken.
  • Filter by jobs that has less than 10 proposals so you could have a chance to be one of the first.
  • Filter that payment is verified.

After narrowing my job search I applied for some jobs and my Connects with going low.

Until I found this one job that requires a Google Local guide to edit locations. I have the level required for the job. I applied instantly and got accepted, finished the required in 5 min, and in a couple of hours I got paid my first $10

I applied for this job with my last 2 Connects so now I’m waiting to receive my $10 so I could buy more connects and start applying again.

Update: I received my money and more

Freelancer working from a cafe
Photo by Hannah Wei on Unsplash

These are some tips to help you not to waste your Connects the way I did.

Now that you have narrowed your search results. Just apply carefully to the jobs that you know you can do.

Now you need to create a template for your proposals. don’t create one template and copy and paste it for everyone. Clients will feel that the proposals are not for them and will not like you.

A proposal template is just a guideline for your proposals. like the footer that has links for the portfolio of your previous jobs and the intro that you introduce yourself to the client.

The middle part in which you mentioned your skills and expertise that matches the ones required for the job, and how you plan to finish this job also any more information you need regarding the project is what you write every time with your self.

If you want to increase your chances to get Freelance work check Freelancer.com

This article is part of my journal of becoming a digital nomad. Follow the publications for weekly articles with tips and experiences of becoming a digital nomad

--

--