Is This the Zodiac Killer? AI says it is.

Troy Larson
Digital Nonsense Creator
3 min readDec 22, 2022

--

In a previous post, I attempted to get AI to render a likeness of the Zodiac Killer based on eyewitness descriptions from several of the crime scenes.

It wasn’t without it’s complications.

I quickly discovered some of the eyewitness descriptions didn’t include an estimate of the Zodiac’s age.

In other cases, I realized, while the AI was able to generate some likenesses that could plausibly be the Zodiac Killer, the descriptions they were based on were vague, and I just didn’t feel really great about most of them.

I decided to try something different.

Instead of prompting the AI with a description of the killer listed by attribute; height, weight, and clothing, I decided to let the AI do the work.

Prompt: The Zodiac Killer based on eyewitness descriptions from the Paul Stine crime scene

image by author

I admit, I was a bit stunned to see those renderings pop up, because they immediately felt a little creepy and… right.

According to an eyewitness near the Paul Stine murder, the Zodiac was white, 35 to 45 years old, 5’10", between 180 and 200…

--

--

Troy Larson
Digital Nonsense Creator

UntilNightFalls.com | Unagented Fiction Author | 3x Top Writer on Art, Rock Music, Photography. Digital Content Producer. Broadcast veteran.