#GEW Winner Ala’a

Ala'a Rostom
Digital Opportunity Trust
3 min readJan 21, 2019

Loool for Soap: My Answer to Jordan’s Soap and Detergent Industry

In my community, it is hard to find soap and other hygienic commodities that treat common hair and skin problems without damaging side effects caused by chemicals. Thinking that the solution was simple, I decided to take matters into my own hands. With the help of Digital Opportunity Trust, I established my business, Loool for soap and candles; my own answer to Jordan’s soap and detergent industry.

The idea of my project initially was to manufacture glycerin soap and olive oil soap, using only natural ingredients and plant-based materials to solve scalp, hair, and skin concerns without relying on harmful ingredients. I had some knowledge of the soap industry, knew the benefits that my potential customers would see in using these high-quality products (in addition to their regular hygienic benefit)s, and decided to take a chance in producing my own. I began making soaps in my home to sell on a small scale.

At first, I faced many difficulties, including reaching customers outside the boundaries of my province, but then I connected with DOT and learned to create a sustainable and realistic business plan, got my work on the right track, and learned how to receive the proper financial support I would need. In the beginning, I was focusing on a smaller picture, simply hoping my natural alternatives would help those in need. Now, since working with DOT and developing my business, Loool for soap and candles has grown.

I expanded my work to also make detergent, shampoo and specialty candles. My products are functional, gentle, and provide both pleasant aromas and (in the case of my candles and some other products) decoration. My work has been influential in the community, what with all my products being natural and vegan ingredients and showing results for skin and hair issues.

I have found the community to be very receptive of my products so far, with many people noticing amazing results at a low cost of purchase. I am now focused on finding a space to properly produce and sell my products now that the demand has become so high. I hope to soon find space to establish Loool for soap and candles as an independent shop. She aspires to continue to develop her products and processes so that her goods become a specialty line that rivals name brand detergent and soap companies.

My advice to young people and other innovators is to continue pursuing your dreams and ambitions. Every success story began with a dream, and when you work hard and invest in your idea and yourself, the opportunities will come.

--

--