Shelby Clow: Memories of the Pain we caused

Shelby Clow
Digital Anthology of Poetry (gr 7)
4 min readJun 1, 2017

--

Developed Poems:

Performance Video

Reflection:

  1. During the process of working on our poems, there were some challenging parts and some parts that were easy. Some poems were hard to create because I either couldn’t write it like one of the examples considering the structure and style, or didn’t know what to write about. One poem that I struggled with was the unreliable narrator. I struggled with this poem because I didn’t have any ideas on what to write about, I understood the concept, but when I had to actually try it out and write it myself it was frustrating. But then there were some poems that I found really easy because I had ideas on what to write about. My what for poem, I found easy to write because the different topics that I chose were very meaningful to me and quite distinctive.

2. I look at my poems and regret saying something or putting something in and not putting something in. In the beginning I thought that my nature poem was really good but then now I look at it in a different way using what I have learnt this unit and it turns out that it was ok but not amazing. It was short and it didn’t focus on one thing it jumped to different feature very fast that is confusing, it didn’t show much information on what a poem should be about. The two poems that I developed because I thought that they were my best work where the Everything Nothing and the What for poems. The What For poem was my favorite because it was meaningful to me and I remember each detail that brings back such good memories of my childhood. I think that they are good poems because they somehow both have a message, they are both something that I can relate to and when we were creating them it followed the examples that were good, the structure, rhythm, rhyme.

3.When I was revising my What for poem I changed a few things:

This is from the everything nothing poem: I mainly added or took lines out because I felt like they weren’t needed like the 7th line in this stanza, I added “myself” because I felt like the line was left too open to I added a word to finish the sentence more specifically.

I re-phrased a few lines to make sound more powerful/firm. I also broke up some lines because I felt that they were too long or too many different things happening. Like the “showing us our places”, “ending and clapping”. I added the line “Holding back our faint tears”, “swarmed” instead of splashed because the language was much richer and it added more detail and emotion to it, I replaced “Gogo” with grandmother because it felt weird saying it because no one new what it meant.

4. Things that I have learnt that are more general to writing, is that when you write you have to think about your audience,how they could relate to what you’re writing about to their lives and how they would interpret it. How your writing is structured, different kinds of pieces would have different types of themes, depending on how you want your piece to sound and look.

Digitized Drafts:

Nature Poem
What For Poem
What for Poem Analysis
Found Poem
Everything Nothing Poem.
Unreliable Narrator
Jabberwocky Analysis
Jabberwocky Illustration

--

--