The Big Project Progress Reports from 11/1 and 11/6

Colton Chance Hayden
Digital Ripple
Published in
1 min readDec 15, 2016

The 1st of December was when I really started to get into gear on the final project. I knew what I wanted to make, I just didn’t know how. So, I hopped on Youtube and tried to teach myself on how to make GIFs.

From what I found, there were several online tools and software that can be used to make GIFs. I narrowed down my search to GIMP to see if there were any tutorials on the basics. Luckily, there were. I watched several clips on the ins and outs of GIMP and figured out how I was going to make what I was envisioning.

On the 5th and 6th of December, after working and playing with GIMP for the week, I felt extremely comfortable on what I was going to be making for the final project. I had rough GIFs made (like the Smiley face) and knew that the last thing I needed was to extract images from video to make some GIFs. When I started on the 5th trying to extract videos from youtube to make GIFs I had hours of trouble finding free software I could use to extract frames from video and open them in GIMP. Without this option, it slowed my thoughts on the project, as I had hit a wall. After this, on the 6th I figured I would loop images to create a similar GIF aesthetic and felt better about creating my final project.

--

--