The Implications of Living in a Digital World: On the (Cutting) Edge

lizardly
Digital Society
Published in
7 min readMay 26, 2020

--

The seemingly relentless nature of digitalisation and the evolution of technology, and their ability to permeate every facet of life, both go to show that we cannot get too comfortable with the way we live now. Change is here to stay, but in a slightly different way than before. Its current exponential progression and potential for disruption, may have consequences for the idea and practical reality of our society as a whole. Whether or not this is a good thing remains to be seen — does society need a revamp? And is it one that will only be achieved by injecting technology into every aspect of life?

Photo by Marius Masalar on Unsplash

In a digital society, change manages to be both mundane and remarkable. Uninteresting in terms of how common it is, but exceptional in its scale and effect. Take the relatively basic act of communication for instance. Starting with letters, to telegrams, to phone calls, emails, texts, social media messages, and now, potentially almost “telepathically”, with the expected invention of Elon Musk’s Neuralink device. The road from written letters, to this still hypothetical-but-soon-to-be-real piece of kit, was a long and indirect one, and also reasonably leads to the idea that it isn’t even the end destination. Musk put forth that Neuralink would make communication easier whilst making language almost “obsolete”, but was still something that could be done out of sentiment. I imagine that this comment would be received very differently by different types of people. Linguists and anthropologists could be appalled at the possible loss of this cultural pillar, but may also see it as just another expression of culture at this point in time. It would be life-changing for those with disabilities or illnesses that impede communication, but may prove the final nail in the coffin for people who speak endangered languages. With language no longer a barrier, would increasingly accessible communication mean cohesion or conflict? This illustrates that the shifts in the way we live, enabled by the incorporation of digital technology, are neither entirely good or bad — but that the possible devastating ramifications will have to be considered and mitigated. That being said, it is admittedly very hard to fully prepare for a change that has yet to happen, or even one that is in the process of happening.

Photo by Ameer Basheer on Unsplash. (The Neuralink device probably won’t end up looking as stereotypically sci-fi as this, unfortunately.)

One change I and everyone else who has spared more than a moment’s thought towards the future can see coming, is the impending fundamental transformation of the labour market. My two main concerns are 1. The alarming inadequacy of education at nearly all levels, and 2. If, as I mentioned before, our idea of what a society and the individuals who comprise it changes due to digitalisation, what will that mean for our definition, demand, and incorporation of work into society, coupled with the complex interplay between it and things like politics and the climate crisis?

Photo by Aleks Dorohovich on Unsplash

In terms of education, I think the problems start early on. Reflecting on my own experience, in primary school my IT lessons consisted of messing around on Microsoft Word or Powerpoint. I have vague recollections of a single basic programming lesson, and using video editing software in secondary school, but that’s it. As I scroll through job listings in 2020, so many stipulate computing skills I have had no formal teaching of, let alone even heard of. During lockdown, I have been helping my younger brother with his schoolwork, and have seen that does now includes coding. This does little to reassure me about either of our futures however — what he is learning now may also be outdated in a decade when he is trying to find a job. Schools are increasingly incorporating technology into teaching, but I can’t help but feel like they are going to be stuck in a perpetual cycle of too little too late. In a digital society, where everything is constantly “advancing”, people or organisations that cannot do it fast enough for whatever reason are going to get left behind. The education system as whole is becoming increasingly archaic, with the change occurring within it not fast enough to keep up with wider global change.

Photo by Franck V. on Unsplash

In relation to my second concern, the example of the eventuality of a predominantly robot workforce is just one of the myriad issues facing those embarking on careers now and in the future. Many have discussed the implications of robots doing jobs previously done by humans, and again it is something I can say is neither wholly bad nor good. The main problem is the possibility of them doing so many jobs that there becomes a deficit in positions available for humans. The effects on capitalism and its sustainability is something I don’t know quite enough about economics to even begin to discuss, but I can imagine it would be fundamentally disruptive. Utopian schools of thought may see robots as a way for humans to move beyond the limits of working to live, but I can’t comprehend how this notion could be practically realised considering the state of the world today. Admittedly, the sci-fi enthusiast within me is entertained by the prospect of a robot coworker, once I get past its potential to eliminate the need or possibility of me even getting a job.

Photo by White.RainForest ∙ 易雨白林. on Unsplash

Underlying all this change and forward thinking, is in my opinion a lack of choice. I feel like I have no choice but to constantly be bettering myself in terms of employability, but I already feel so far behind. I either try and keep up, or lose a shot at the future I want to live, because the world is going to change regardless of what I’m doing. I do find it strange that a reality that is not even here yet can have such a profound effect on how I am living now. The digital society that exists today, is not like the one I am going to be living in a decade from now, and since I have no idea what its going to look like, I can only hope my current preparations will suffice.

Reflection

This module has been a learning experience unlike any I have experienced so far at university. The scope and real-world applicability of the subjects covered has been refreshing, bringing to my attention present-day topics that I would have been otherwise unaware of. Whilst my other modules are the backbone of my academic knowledge, and concern my specific area of interest, the inclusion of recent developments is less integral than I would like. This means I have to try and update myself on relevant new knowledge, so have enjoyed the support and guidance towards information like this from this module. I have also felt like my core modules have been complimented by Digital Society, for example my interest in organisational psychology in relation to the employability topic, and marketing by the earlier digital engagement topic. Approaching these familiar areas of study has been interesting also, as I have been forced to take a slightly different perspective, which I think can only serve to deepen and develop my understanding (with the added benefit of a bit of revision).

I feel as though my ability to think about issues has evolved from immediately trying to find a correct answer, to a more measured and nuanced philosophical approach, taking into account broader factors and the thoughts of others. This is due to the small questions interspersed with the module content that I have been able to engage with myself, and then being able to review others’ responses. Further to this, the fact that other students are from other disciplines has given me access to insights that a normal class discussion within the confines of my course may not be able to. This is valuable, in that has reinforced to me the importance of being cognizant of the vast array of views that can be held on a topic. This skill is a mindset I have been keen utilise in my life generally, instead of gravitating to what I alone think is the correct appraisal. I feel as though this is vital for collaboration and teamwork, both of which will likely be aspects of future jobs/volunteering opportunities I intend to pursue, and therefore something I am pleased to have practiced to a degree.

The delivery of this module was something I was initially sceptical about, but looking back now I am glad to have picked it. Not only was the transition to living and continuing my learning at home easier, it has been an exercise that will be useful for the future, which may include a lot more independent work in a post-COVID-19 world. I have identified that this self-regulated learning is not something I am naturally good at, but have as a result developed strategies to do it as best I can. These include keeping a reasonable sleep schedule, and not doing work from my bed.

Finally, I found the digisoc2 assignment really enjoyable, and I think it was because I was able to pick a topic (video games) that is a true passion of mine. I am keeping this in mind as I consider my future career, and how much engaging with a subject that brings me joy can enhance my experience of work.

--

--