How it works

Digital Storytelling Festival
2 min readApr 30, 2021


Showcase your storytelling skills and make ideas happen. Receive feedback from a professional jury and international audience. Win prizes!

How to participate

  1. Find an inspiring piece of copyright-free or openly licensed material from cultural heritage collections across the world (check out our resources for content inspiration, tools and tutorials)
  2. Create your digital story in one of the two categories:
  • Creative editorial: a narrative with images or interactive elements
  • Social media: a social media post on the platform of your choice

3. Publish your story on Medium during the Festival, 10 May — 26 June 2022 and complete the submission form

4. We will add your story to the Digital Storytelling Festival Medium publication

5. Share your story on social media using the hashtag #DigiStoryFest


The 2022 Festival winners will receive prizes for the best stories, as voted by Festival goers and a professional jury:

Terms & Conditions

  • Entry is free
  • Participants must complete the submission form and add their entry to the Digital Storytelling Festival Medium publication
  • Each entrant can submit up to a total of two stories for the competition: one per category.
  • Each individual entry must include at least one piece of openly licensed digital cultural heritage content. Entries that do not contain at least one item from these sources will not be considered.
  • Each individual entry must contain the URL(s) to the source material used (e.g,
  • All source material must be available for free and legal reuse (i.e., the item has a Creative Commons licence that does not restrict the creation of derivatives, or is in the public domain, has no known copyright, or is openly licensed).
  • Entries submitted to the Digital Storytelling Festival competition containing public domain material grant the competition organisers the right to assign a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence to this work. Entries containing Creative Commons-licensed content will also be assigned a CC BY 4.0, unless the source has an SA component to the licence, in which case the same licence will be applied.
  • Entries will be judged by external judges. Their decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  • The People’s Choice Award winner will be selected based on the number of ‘claps’ that stories receive on Medium. The entry with the highest amount of claps will be the winner.
  • The organisers reserve the right to disqualify works that breach third-party intellectual property rights, contain language or imagery that is offensive or obscene, or material that is confidential or invasive of personal privacy, or infringes the rights of any other person.
  • In uploading your entry you give permission for Europeana, The Heritage Lab and the competition’s judges to post your work to the competition’s website, promote via the organisations and judges’ other online channels, and adapt for other possible promotional and editorial purposes.
  • Lastly, we encourage you to be aware of those with impaired vision when creating your submission. Consider slowing down the animation, adapting the colour choices and providing descriptive contextual information with your entry.



Digital Storytelling Festival

Europe's culture - collected for you. Explore tens of millions of items from a range of Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.