Rebuild the Internet

Madison Brody
Digital Studies 101
2 min readOct 14, 2019

The left side is the beginning of the drawing, which represents the various ways the internet can represent togetherness and how the web can figuratively and literally create a web between people near and far. I see this as a way the internet is used, because I was able to use the internet such as Facebook to connect and communicate with my dad whenever he was serving overseas on deployments and such. He would be all across the world, but thanks to the internet, I was able to talk to him and still have him as an active part of my life, even though he wasn’t physically there.

The right side is the last part of my drawing or representation of the internet, this is an idea of the internet creating a way for us to be in our own little bubble, secluded from our family and friends. Now a days, many children and young adults are more fascinated by the idea of others whom they don’t know, rather than the reality of life and friends. This results in a figurative cloud of internet over the secluded persons head, because they feel as if their online ‘life’ is better than real life, which separates them from most real world emotions and activities. The pencil is representative of the physical seperation of real life and online life. Personally, I find myself to be guilty of this as well. Many times when at parties or family events or even simply a dinner, I tend to pull out my phone and get on Snapchat or Instagram, because I am bored of real life. Instead I consume myself into others’ lives and am more interested in whatever they’re posting or doing than my own personal life. Because of this, I have gotten into arguments within my family and within my relationship, just because, sometimes unknowingly we become more interested in the online life than our real ones, which sometimes creates us to lead a more negative outlook on our ideas of our own life.

Overall the internet is an amazing place, whether it be negative or positive, it has become a great entity in our everyday lives without even realizing it was growing into such an active thing in today’s society.

--

--