What is digital identity?

Kaitlan O'Keefe
Digital Studies 101
2 min readOct 22, 2019

I would like to say that my social media accounts tell a true story about who I am but I know that is not fully true. I do not think it is far from the truth but I know my account tells the story that I want to tell about myself. I believe that your digital identity is exactly what you want it to be; a story that you tell of yourself where you get to expose the best (and worst if you chose) in a controlled environment. In my experience, most people show their best side. They post about their triumphs and amazing adventures with all of their beautiful friends. Obviously life is not that picturesque. People do not publicize the C- they got on an exam they studied so hard for, or their teary eyed phone calls to their mom. This is why people struggle with social media and their perception of other people. People see other’s perfect digital identities and struggle to see past that. They only see the digital identity of other people that the person wants them to see.

Also, digital identities can differ depending on the platform. I believe I portray a different identity on Facebook than I do on Instagram. The identity I want my family to see goes on Facebook while on Instagram, I portray an identity that I want my friends to see. This difference may be minor but it definitely exists. Digital identity is a multifaceted idea and I do not believe each person can be judged solely based on their use of one social media platform.

--

--