Diane Dupré
Digital Workshop
Published in
5 min readMar 4, 2016

--

ผู้ที่เต้นรำไม่เป็นตำหนิขลุ่ยและกลอง

Ram mai dee toht bpee toht glorng

*Those who can’t dance blame it on the flute and the drum*

In 2009, I spent 3 weeks in Thailand. Although my family and the de Walques (family friends) spent a lot of time voyaging from one city to another (starting in Bangkok, then traveling north to Chang Mai, Chang Rai and then crossing the entire country to end peacefully on the paradisiac island of Koh Tao) I spent an amazing time and am proud to say I saw a lot of Thailand. Obviously there is much more to see than 4 cities, but I did not stay in a resort, even though at times I was so exhausted I longed for a deckchair, a glass of lemonade in my hand and a pool at my feet.

Things to avoid:

  • A hotel without a pool in Bangkok. It might seem like a caprice but trust me, a pool is a necessity. I spend two nights in a small, local hotel in which the rooms barely had the space for a bed. Despite the (malfunctioning) air conditioning we did not sleep a minute. Not only is Thailand an extremely hot country but add to that the pollution of the capital and you find yourself in an unbearable heat.
  • Spicy foods on your first day. The change from European to Thai food, although exhilarating, is confusing to our stomachs. Make the transition easier for yourself and start off with soft foods before moving on to spicier ones. Or, start off with the spiciest, if you want an upset stomach and several nights spent bent over a toilet bowl.
  • Do not take the train if you want to get somewhere fast. Thai trains are often late; the first train I took to Koh Tao was 12 hours and we had to add 5 hours to that for “traffic”. On the way back, we waited 9 hours more in the train station and although the experience was one of a kind, it would have been a problem if we had a schedule to keep. However, if you want an authentic experience, try it out. You’re guaranteed to taste home made Thai food from the merchants passing by and the view is beyond breathtaking.

Things to do:

  • Walk with elephants. Be it on their head or in a seat on their back, walking with elephants is something I’ll always remember. The first time I did it I was a little disappointed; I wanted a close relationship with the elephant, wanted to be seated directly on him but was instead seated on a bamboo chair on his back. However, the walk is still magical. And although my experience was short lived, I still remember it clearly. The second time, I was seated on his neck. The experience was much more genuine and I absolutely loved it. Also, for a couple of bahts (Thai currency) you could buy a bag of bamboo to feed the elephant. I recommend trying it out, it’s extraordinary and you won’t get much similar opportunities in a lifetime.
  • Tuk-tuk. Sounds ridiculous, is amazing. These gorgeously decorated tiny chariot-like cars invade the city with colors. When your personal “tiny-taxi” driver decides to race against the driver next to you which follows in a chase all over town, while you fear for your life, you can’t help but have the time of your life. You might be tempted to take a taxi, they understand a little more English and seem more secure but please, don’t. Take the risk you will not regret it.
  • Snorkeling or scuba diving. Not only are the beaches spectacular but a couple of meters away from the sand, in the water, is one of the most gorgeous coral reefs. While keeping your eye on the lookout for the harmless yet impressive sharks, admire the palette of colors you won’t find on the Belgian coast. From little fish to massive ones, and tall corals to little colorful ones that close when you swim by, the Thai coasts are worth having a little salt water in your eyes for.

Things to eat:

  • Try exotic fruits. Although I have to admit I did not enjoy every single one I tried, there are some fruits I wished grew on trees in my Belgian garden. I can still remember the little B&B we stayed at where was cultivated hundreds of rambutan trees. Although we were unsure if we were allowed to eat them, that night our trash cans were filled with the peculiar shells of the delectable fruits. Don’t stay with the typical banana, mango and lychee, although they do taste better in their native country, and try things you wouldn’t usually try. That is, after all, what traveling is all about.
  • Spicy dishes. This is my opinion on spicy Thai dishes: the things you love most, hurt you the most. There is nothing better than a typical Thai curry soup, that’s a fact. Try local small restaurants as they offer the most authentic spicy dishes.
  • Pad Thai. I can’t even describe how delicious this dish is. All I remember is not even bothering to look at the menus in the restaurant because I already knew what I was ordering; Pad Thai. You can find some on sale in the Belgian markets on Sundays but they aren’t nearly as delicious as the original Thai ones.
  • Try the little merchants on the street. It might be a risk, but it’s a risk you should take. The little food chariots stationed on the street markets offer the best food. Especially after all that visiting, you deserve a little treat.

Have fun! — Diane.

Originally published at isb-sb-mseng-dupdiane.blogspot.be.

--

--