Help Embrace

Nina de Walque
Digital Workshop
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2016

Tell me I’ll be happy dad; tell me this is only a nightmare!

Help me and tell me that all my insecurities are not insecurities but things that make me who I am today, beautiful.

Say reassuring words and motivate me to become a better person, a wiser person.

Laugh at the silly mistakes I have made instead of pinning me down on a judgmental board.

Tell mommy I’m brave, beautiful, a child worthy of being proud of.

But please, please, I beg you… Don’t say I look like a slut with so much makeup.

Don’t tell me to not show those curves out too much.

Don’t shout at me saying that I never make time for you because of my friends and the people I hang out with.

Then you say that all these words are just to help. But tell me, do you mean all those hurtful words?

It may come from good intentions, but maybe instead of judging my clothing, you should shut it.

Because, these clothes, yes these clothes, they outline all my curves and body that you gave me.

And no, I will not be ashamed of the body I was born with.

And yes, I will be judged on them. People today judge each other no matter what, anyways.

So please tell me dad, are you proud of me? Please tell me you are proud of me.

Tess Holiday (plus size model) teaches us to embrace and love the body you were born with, quoting: “Life is much more beautiful and complex than a number on a scale.”

--

--