Being a Tough Business Leader

Andrew Kamal
DigitalCPR
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2020

In business, you have to be tough. Lots of times many people get overly emotional in business, and this can lead to their downfall. People also have a tendency to either open up, be soft, or talk about their personal lives. The business world is meant for business. As harsh as this sounds, this is the reality of moving up the ladder.

It doesn’t mean you can’t be friendly to your employees or colleagues, however it does mean that business is business. Whenever one has the tendency to let things go all the time, they are putting an expectation that they are too easy going.

You can’t let people walk all over you and you can’t let people take advantage of you. If you become vulnerable, you will get burnt one way or another. I personally know what it is like to be burnt one way or another. I seen it happen to lots of people and myself. When someone cheats me or been successful off my work, I take it upon myself to every once and a while look at their success as a reminder to myself of what happened. While, I am always honest and deal with integrity, most people aren’t.

This is why you have to realize is that in business, many people put on fake friendly faces. Be honest, have integrity, and be friendly, but also be tough. Have this tough personality where you don’t always let things go, you aren’t vulnerable, and you stick to the task at hand. Assertiveness is one of the key soft skills many business leaders have, and there is even assertiveness training.

--

--

Andrew Kamal
DigitalCPR

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite