Introduction

Meet the Author

Emily Dietrich
digitaldreamer
3 min readSep 13, 2019

--

My name is Emily Dietrich and I am a senior at Penn State World Campus. I moved to Portland, Oregon from Sewickley, Pennsylvania roughly a year ago in pursuit of traveling before graduation. As a Strategic Communications major, I believe a creative mind is key to finding answers to the most pressing problems.

For as long as I can remember, I have been in love with art in its many forms. Unfortunately, I have always been told how hard it is to make it as an artist, and that it’s “a waste of time.” Schools are even focusing more on STEM classes, casting aside art and music, and deeming them “hobbies.” Even so, I have always found myself drawn to taking art classes. Instead of taking a math class my senior year of high school, I opted for ceramics and jewelry making classes which were the highlights of my year.

The Digital Dreamer

In this blog, I plan on discussing my transition from conventional art (paint, paper, pencil, etc.) to digital art, as well as talking about tips for creative block and talking a little more about what fuels my artistic fire. For the past few years, I’ve aspired to become a graphic designer, but haven’t felt my understanding of the current mediums were sufficient enough (Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign). So, with the help of this blog, I would like to push myself to practice and reflect upon my digital art weekly, a feat that will hopefully help me after graduation.

Some of the topics that inspire me are fiction and sci-fi, not to mention anime and video games. This means that a lot of the art I will be featuring reflect these topics. A few examples are Harry Potter, Pokémon and Sailor Moon. I also often find myself creating social media content for gamers, such as Twitter headers and icons.

An icon I created of myself in Photoshop and Illustrator. The name Sunfall is the gamertag that I use in most video games.

A Blog That Inspired Me

Creating an art blog is difficult, especially for someone like me who hasn’t practiced it as much as I would have liked to. So, I looked up blogs that could help me with this. Below is the link to a blog called Artwork Archive. It is a great source that has inspired me with topics to write about in future blog posts.

https://www.artworkarchive.com/blog/50-terrific-topics-to-write-about-for-your-art-blog

Concluding Thoughts

As always, I welcome feedback. Think you have some tips for aspiring graphic designers? Know any tricks to digital art? Are you just passionate about art in general and want to have a discussion? Please let me know in the comments below!

--

--

Emily Dietrich
digitaldreamer

Aspiring graphic designer. Blogging to reflect on my progress in digital art and its mediums.