Why You Should Make Time For Self-Reflection

Emily Dietrich
digitaldreamer
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2019

When was the last time you did some self-reflection? Maybe it was last December when you were thinking about New Year’s resolutions.

The truth is, most of us don’t feel the need to reflect on our daily lives. We’re so busy trying to constantly be moving forward that we rarely take the time to slow down and be one with our thoughts. This is because a lot of us don’t realize just how powerful self-reflection is.

Source: SlideShare

What is Self-Reflection?

According to Marriam-Webster dictionary, self-reflection is meditation or serious thought about one’s character, actions, and motives.

In a nutshell, the goal of self-reflection is to gain self-awareness. Life always has so many moving parts that we often forget to stop looking around us and start looking within.

There are countless ways to practice self-reflection. When I was younger, I used to write short stories and poems. Nowadays, I prefer to draw. Whatever the case, having a way to process my thoughts and feelings has helped me tremendously throughout my life.

Why I’ve Made a Habit to Reflect

In my opinion, making a habit of self-reflection can create a more positive mindset.

I’ve suffered a lot from depression and anxiety throughout my life.

Things have been better for me recently and I partially attribute that to doing so much art. I also made the decision to change my environment which was negatively effecting me, something which took time and self-awareness to achieve.

Since then, I’ve decided that I want to pursue some sort of a career involving art which has forced me to view myself through a different lens.

Source: Me

7 Reasons Why Self-Reflection is Important

A personal growth blog, The Blissful Mind, lists seven reasons why it’s important to reflect every day:

  1. To make sense of things
  2. To uncover breakthroughs
  3. To challenge your thoughts
  4. To recognize change and track progress
  5. To increase self-awareness
  6. To inspire self-acceptance
  7. To live with more intention

Inktober Progress

As promised, I want to give you guys an update on my Inktober progress.

I only have two pieces to show off this week. If you guys have been participating in Inktober, let me know how it’s been going in the comments below!

Day 11: Pumpkin
Day 12: The Big 3

--

--

Emily Dietrich
digitaldreamer

Aspiring graphic designer. Blogging to reflect on my progress in digital art and its mediums.