Meet our intern

Ellie Butterfield
digitalme
Published in
3 min readJul 16, 2018

We sat down with our new Intern, Ellie Butterfield to find out how she has found the first week as an intern at Digitalme.

I have just completed my first week as an intern at The City & Guilds Group. I’ll be working mainly on client services and marketing based in the Leeds office with the Digitalme team.

How has your first week been?

My first week as an intern has been very good, I spent my first two days getting to know the team, and working closely with my mentor to learn more about their day-to-day role as well as the values of the wider company, what their purpose is and how Digitalme, and the wider City & Guilds Group bring value to their customers.

This week has included many different meetings and conference calls to understand more about how we work with clients to meet a variety of needs, such as learning how to use the platforms like Open badge academy.

Both days enabled me to understand what visions different clients had as they differ. It also meant that I was able to get more experience in working with businesses as it’s something i’ve never done before.

What else do you have planned for your internship?

Support project is next on the agenda!

I’m really looking forward to the next 5 weeks, I’ll be working on an intern group project looking into social media and how it helps find jobs, apprenticeship sessions and a career progression session as well as visiting London to present the project.

What have you learned about Digitalme so far?

Digitalme are working to change the way individuals communicate skills , helping employers see the skills and attributes a person has using technology called digital badges (also referred to digital credentials).

This format can be used to capture all different kinds of skills and achievements an individual has, which is crucial for employers when looking for the right people to join their team. For the individual, this can increase access and opportunities by supporting more visible connections between the skills employers are looking for and the skills individuals have gained.

This fits in well with the City & Guilds Group mission of helping education providers, employers and governments across the world develop skills that help people, businesses and economies grow.

What attracted you to an internship at Digitalme/ City & Guilds?

I wanted to gain experience of an office environment, to explore different potential routes into employment in the future — there are a wide range of roles at Digitalme and City & Guilds, I have found learning more about Open badges really interesting so far and look forward to finding out more about digital credentials and their impact in the next few weeks.

During my internship, I aim to build on my communication skills, specifically verbal and professional, working with a variety of people in new environment will help develop these skills because it allows me to interact with clients in a professional manner and talk to different people within the company.

--

--