Cybersecurity

We MUST rethink our approach to Passwords

Why everyone MUST use a Password Manager

Jenney Clark
Digital Privacy Wise
11 min readJun 26, 2020

--

Photo by Morning Brew on Unsplash

Until recently, I thought that I will never write on this topic because there is no need. It is such an old topic, so much has already been written about it, and when it comes to protecting your digital life, this the most basic thing you need, which can easily be addressed.

Well, I was wrong.

I was helping my father recently with his online photo management when I came to know that he doesn’t have 2FA enabled for his accounts. Fair enough. He was also using the same password almost everywhere because of obvious reasons.

I suggested that he should use the password manager, but the reaction I got from him wasn’t positive. I was furious at first. Later on, I also found out that it’s the same situation with my better half, my 16 years old son, my in-laws, and a few other family members as well.

OMG! This was beyond my imagination and hard to digest. Since then I couldn’t get these thoughts out of my head. I felt that it’s not just them, but there might be a lot of other people out there, who might have the exact same issues and concerns.

This story is just an effort to remove all the discomfort and scary feeling as much as possible so…

--

--

Jenney Clark
Digital Privacy Wise

Jenney is an passionate technology blogger, cybersecurity enthusiast, addicted reader, Online Privacy advocate, following KISS principle (Keep it Simple Stupid)