17 Entrepreneurs Share Their Sage Advice in 3 Sentences

S.M.Blanchard
digitalundivided
Published in
6 min readDec 18, 2023
Image via pexels

Ever wish you were gifted a guide to get you through the ups and downs of entrepreneurship? Even businessman Ebenezer Scrooge had not just one — but three — guides to help him become better (and, through the process, a better business person).

You’re in luck! This holiday season, digitalundivided is packaging not one, not three, but 17 sages to give your business wisdom. Warm up by the fireplace with digitalundivided entrepreneurs and gift yourself great startup advice from these C-Suite stars.

Image via LinkedIn

Alexandria Alli, F&W

Take it easy on yourself and know that it’s compounding. There were times when I would do something, and it would fail, or things won’t happen. But it’s compounding. Over time, you realize you built this big thing. Keep doing the work and keep going.

Read more here!

Image via digitalundivided

Ash Sharma, cinchatravel

Celebrate the wins. It’s normal to focus on the bad weeks or what you didn’t get. Try as much as possible to enjoy that win, even for an hour. That’s what this whole thing is about — those special moments.

Read more here!

Image via Local First Arizona

Azsaunna Bryant, MELANIN-IS

Find a community that can support and pour into you because doing it alone is tough. I have no clue what I would have done without the guidance I have gotten from digitalundivided. Seeing the different struggles women of color have faced to get capital brings togetherness. But it also brings change. Women together are so powerful.

Read more here!

Image via X

Blair Hirst, Digital Health Review

Continue to make sure you understand why and why you’re doing what you’re doing. Have that focus on how you build your company and grow your company.

Read more here!

Image via digitalundivided

Camille Newman, Body By Love

You have to run your race. You cannot compare yourself to other people. Given everything going on in my life, my metric for success will be very different from someone who doesn’t have similar caretaking responsibilities or responsibilities altogether.

Read more here!

Image via Mama Moore’s Gourmet Popcorn

Debra Moore, Mama Moore’s Gourmet Popcorn

Do research. Before I opened the popcorn store, I went to a popcorn store in Wisconsin. I went to one in North Carolina. I went to one in Georgia. I went to one in Michigan. Have any informational interviews, if possible.

Read more here!

Image via LinkedIn

Ebone Bell, Tagg Magazine

You aren’t alone. You aren’t alone. Entrepreneurs and small business owners, especially women, feel like nobody else is going through this. This struggle — this hardship — is common. Make sure you find a community of people you can talk to personally and professionally. It allows you to get out of your head.

Read more here!

Image via digitalundivided’s Medium blog

Georgette Luna, Sea Philly

Be true to yourself. Be genuine. Find that purpose, and staple it as your North Star. When you walk a path with purpose, when you walk a path with intent, when you wake up in the morning, loving what you do, that drives everything. If you’re starting a journey of starting a business, make sure it feels true to you.

Read more here!

Image via Cosmopolitan

Isoken Igbinedion, Parfait

Stay as close to your customers as possible. Be obsessed with them as you are with the product itself. Make sure you are focused on solving the problems for the people you’re trying to serve.

Read more here!

Image via LinkedIn

Joshe Ordonez, airpals

Take the leap. I founded the company during the pandemic, with everything shut down. I needed more savings. But being an entrepreneur and being in business is about risks. Every day, you are being thrown dangers and problems. It’s tough to avoid those things. So, for me, jump into it as soon as you can.

Read more here!

Nicole Deggins, SistaMidwife

For me, it’s authenticity. I am who I am. I cannot change who I am. Being authentic allows me to feel good about the decisions I make and the things I’m making decisions about.

Read more here!

Image via digitalundivided

Olivia Faye Scott, Freedom at the Mat

One piece of advice was given to me when I first started by one of my mentors in New York: don’t get the big office on Madison Avenue. Spending all your money on fixed expenses means you will need more money to grow your business.

Read more here!

Image via InsightTimer

Samora Subar, Samora Life

Be patient with yourself. There are a lot of people who are doing well in their business. Sometimes, it feels like I should be doing more. Or, I should do something different because compare and despair. Instead of comparing someone else’s journey, know you’re on your path.

Read more here!

Image via TassleTurn

Shante Elliot, Tassle Turn

Know when you need to put your blinders on. It can be disappointing to see other people do things that you didn’t get into. It doesn’t mean you’re unhappy for those people, but know when to put your blinders on and focus on what you’re doing.

Read more here!

Image via LinkedIn

Shay Claiborne, Mommyfluent

As moms and entrepreneurs, we have to give ourselves grace. Sometimes, we can be superwomen and not want to accept help. But, I’m telling you, get help if someone is offering us help.

Read more here!

Image via LinkedIn

Tiffany Brown, Wicks NOLA Candle Company

I caution anybody who goes into this thinking it will be just this glorified experience. It’s not. You’re going to work longer and more hours than you did before. It’s not all negative because I love what I do. But it’s a sacrifice.

Read more here!

Image via LinkedIn

Tobi Bosede, DentalFynd

You don’t know what you don’t know. Be open to feedback, even if that doesn’t necessarily mean that you take it. It might not be wrapped in the package you want. But always view it in a positive light.

Read more here!

--

--

S.M.Blanchard
digitalundivided

Senior Brand and Communications Manager at @digitalundivided. Supporting Latina and Black women entrepreneurs go from idea to startup.