Case Study: Founder Builds a Community For Misfits of Colors

Allana Rocha
digitalundivided
Published in
2 min readMar 16, 2020

Bryanda Law, a former cytogenetic technologist, is the Founder of Quirktastic, a media tech company that aims to be be the go-to for all things for quirky people of color and build the largest, most authentic community of geeks, nerds, alternatives, and free spirits of color.

The company’s core products include Quirktastic, a contributor content site, an ecommerce shop called The Quirk Shop, and a multi-genre convention called QuirkCon.

Within 1 year, Bryanda has successfully scaled the company to almost six figures in annual revenues. “I’m building a sense of community for people who haven’t had this type of community before, because I was one of those kids. For example, I was the only black kid at the Asian culture club. You can grow up feeling like you’re the only one, but when you go online, you have all of these groups of people that find each other. That’s what Quirktastic has become and where we define success — no matter what happens, we can go back to that base of building this large, authentic community”.

Bryanda stresses the importance of customer discovery as the foundation for decisions ranging from product development to marketing strategy to event organization. She has even organized the data for her managing editors to help them brainstorm topics to write about for Quirktastic.

Knowing her business through and through improved her confidence.

“Some of the fears I had about talking about my business went away because… I knew I had a business. I had done the work. I can look at my unit economics and know what’s working. I can tell you my month over month growth rate. I can tell you my customer acquisition costs. That helped me become more confident within my business.”

--

--