Count your blessings

Simple pleasures of life, but ever so precious

Ishan Mahajan
Dilettante’s Den
2 min readMar 13, 2018

--

Photo by Rex Pickar on Unsplash

Last morning, I woke up to a stinging pain in my throat along with a fever.

The doctor informed me of a moderate inflammation of the tonsils, and promptly handed me a 5-day antibiotic dosage, with a few anti-allegerics thrown in. Of course, it was just another day for the doctor who couldn’t have been less bothered by the situation.

However, for my part, I have painstakingly felt the couple of thousand times I have swallowed any amount of food, water or my own spittle ever since. Every single time.

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how a cricket injury kept me in bed for over six months, and how being able to walk on my two feet without falling over seemed like a wonder afterwards. Citing a more trivial example, have you ever recovered from a bad cold and absolutely relished the fresh air that entered your lungs?

Do you, otherwise, ever think about the countless breathe-in’s and out’s you do every day? Likely not.

In so many ways, our body is an unparalleled marvellous machinery. Each limb, muscle and bone working in coordination to create this rarity called life.

Yet, we only appreciate its awesomeness once it flounders.

Well, that’s too bad. Innit?

--

--

Ishan Mahajan
Dilettante’s Den

When people tell me to mind my Ps & Qs, I tell them to mind their there's and their's!