Love in the times of Consulting

Ishan Mahajan
Dilettante’s Den
Published in
2 min readSep 16, 2017

--

Blankly I stared at the blue ocean,
While the sun blazed atop the blue sky.
We both sat lazy on the beach,
When her pretty face first caught my eye.

Closer to her place I did slide,
And greeted loudly over the billows’ song.
Over an hour of diligence had me convinced,
That this engagement was sure to last long.

Regular meetings set up we did,
My heart told me I had a strong case.
One day I did a cheesy same page,
And then took the moment to touch base.

Our fondness for poetry we did share,
I liked Wordsworth, she loved Keats.
Soon enough, we stepped up things a bit,
Our love blossomed between the spread-sheets.

We traveled together to places umpteen,
I recollect one most picturesque trek.
We would have posed like the Titanic duo,
If only, some time, we had a real deck.

Soon we needed the parents’ buy-in,
And waited for a time that did suit.
Her mother, she thought, was easier to win,
So we went straight for the low-hanging fruit.

There were moments tricky along the way,
But, gladly, it all ended in mirthful laughter.
Our equation, we figured, was highly scaleable,
And we set out for the happily ever after.

Our many stories would fill numerous reams,
And it would delight me to dive deep.
But I, my friend, have promises to keep,
And miles to accumulate before I sleep,
And miles to accumulate before I sleep.

--

--

Ishan Mahajan
Dilettante’s Den

When people tell me to mind my Ps & Qs, I tell them to mind their there's and their's!