The Virtue of Selfishness

Ayn Rand

Ishan Mahajan
Dilettante’s Den
1 min readJun 14, 2016

--

Rating 4/5

Having read Atlas Shrugged & Fountainhead, I still never completely warmed up to Rand’s principles of objectivism. It seemed to be quite an other-worldly concept which, though fair in theory, was extremely idealistic (read: unrealistic).

However, this book expounds the tenets of her philosophy and, essay by essay, lay down a societal framework where these principles might actually work. The flow of chapters is really well done as they keep answering questions that the reader may be thinking of one by one. Rand’s brash dismissal of some countries’ policies (it’s odd that Rand was actually born in Russia) followed by chest thumping jingoism for the Unites States is quite remarkable.

A recommended read for the sheer thinking through and detail that must have gone behind this. And for Rand’s ability to whip up a philosophy of rather extreme principles and brazenly upholding them in a world that loves to hate these very values.

P.S. I have often felt Rand’s writing has a distinctly masculine flavour to it. I have little to add in terms of the ‘why’ and ‘how does it matter’ of it. Can blame it on the way the society has primed me on gender stereotypes I believe!

--

--

Ishan Mahajan
Dilettante’s Den

When people tell me to mind my Ps & Qs, I tell them to mind their there's and their's!