The Witch of Agnesi

Ishan Mahajan
Dilettante’s Den
Published in
1 min readJun 20, 2016

She floated by like an icy mist,
Her sightings known to drive men crazy.
The curved bosom lent her a crooked beauty,
They called her the Witch of Agnesi.

Little Maria had spotted her first,
Once while she doodled in her book.
The witch, they said, was kind to her,
But some other lives she brutally took.

I bumped into her one morning,
While I negotiated a circular turn.
I had veered only a little off the center,
When her murky shadow I did discern.

She cackled loudly, and lifted a dagger,
I had but no time to twiddle,
Pulled out from by bag two mighty axes,
And hacked the hag right in the middle.

She fell flat, her arms flailing,
Her head inordinately held high.
She was told life comes a full circle,
Now she knew it was but a lie.

--

--

Ishan Mahajan
Dilettante’s Den

When people tell me to mind my Ps & Qs, I tell them to mind their there's and their's!