Linux Gaming: Too many temptations.

My First Month of Linux Gaming

Chappers
Dimp Digital
4 min readFeb 25, 2016

--

The first month of my Linux Gaming experience is coming to an end and I am really starting to struggle… and like any resolution that you make for the better, you start to look back and think, maybe having Microsoft in my life wasn’t all that bad.

This isn’t me forgiving the failures of the Xbox One and I am glad mine has been sold. What I am missing, is the choice of games and the relative ease of accessing them.

My Guild Wars 2 install has failed at least 10 times using Wine/Playonlinux. I still can’t get my wireless Xbox 360 controller to sort the right stick functionality out on Firewatch. Borderlands 2 apparently doesn’t support wireless controllers at all (not just a Linux problem).

Project Cars, Rocket League and many others promise Linux/SteamOS compatibility and it just gets forgotten or constantly put back… Still I chase.

Microsoft, We Need To Talk

Dear Microsoft,

Maybe I was a little hasty. I know things weren’t working between us, things needed to change. Maybe we can make it work again?

I don’t want the Windows 10 Microsoft, I want the old Windows 7 Microsoft. The reliable, un-assuming OS, you remember those great times don’t you?

Can we make this work?

CH_PP_RS

So I have to admit that last night I started to think of going back to Windows from Ubuntu. If it wasn’t for the gaming, I wouldn’t even consider this… but I miss my racing sims and NBA 2k16.

So I went through my emails to dig out the download link for Windows 7 (I install Windows 10 as a free upgrade). Unfortunately, the download link had expired. After navigating the information minefield that is the Microsoft Support Website, I finally managed to start an online chat session with a Microsoft Support Technician (full discussion is at the bottom of the article)… It took me 23 minutes to get the download link I needed. Welcome back to Microsoft.

I haven’t started the install yet. Its sitting in my downloads folder as a temptation for when I get weak again and forget these logistical loops that you have to jump through to use a Microsoft product.

2 Real Options

I was thinking this morning, I have 2 real options if I wish to continue to be an active Gamer (not just playing 4 year old titles).

Option #1: Buy a new PC, load it with Ubuntu and try XCOM2 and Shadows Over Mordor and cross my fingers that some big AAA titles come to SteamOS soon. If they don’t, I go back to Windows [shudder].

Option #2: Invest in some more Wii U games… Ok, I have 1 real option (see option #1).

Trying to get a new Windows 7 download link

Mariane T (9:23 pm)
Hi, thanks for visiting Answer Desk! I’m Mariane T.

Me (9:23 pm)
hi, I bought a copy of windows 7 from the microsoft store on 31/05/2010… It doesn’t appear in my download list though.

Mariane T (9:24 pm)
Thank you for contacting us regarding this concern. May I ask do you have the order number for the purchase?

Me (9:25 pm)
[my order number]

Mariane T (9:26 pm)
thank you, are you currently on your downloads page?

Me (9:26 pm)
yeah

Mariane T (9:27 pm)
If the purchase is made before June 27, 2012 possible that you may not see the order due to the site chanages

Me (9:27 pm)
The original link i had just times out

Mariane T (9:28 pm)
Are you trying to install Windows 7?

Me (9:28 pm)
Yeah, i want to remove windows 10

Mariane T (9:29 pm)
May I know when did you upgrade the device to Windows 10?

Me (9:29 pm)
urm… must of been 3 months back. I’ve had a lot of problems with it. couldn’t get my graphics card to play nicely with it :-(

Me (9:30 pm)
maybe 4 months

Mariane T (9:32 pm)
I’m really sorry to hear that, since you’ve been using Windows 10f for 3 months the option to restore from the system restore point may not be available, to further assist you with this I will provide you the link for our Windows tech support.

Mariane T (9:32 pm)
We usually handle office subscriptions and billing concerns for consumer accounts. Since I have limited resources, I will need to refer you to the specific department who will be able to address your issue.

Mariane T (9:32 pm)
I would be happy to provide the contact details of the team that handles this kind of issue.

Me (9:32 pm)
I don’t need technical support, I want the copy of windows 7 I bought please.

Mariane T (9:33 pm)
Are you referring to the product key?

Me (9:33 pm)
No, I have the license key. I need a link to download the OS

Mariane T (9:34 pm)
Let me check for that

Mariane T (9:40 pm)
thank you for staying on the line Ben, are you currently on your Windows 10 PC?

Me (9:41 pm)
No, I haven’t used it in a month because windows 10 is so slow and horrible.

Mariane T (9:42 pm)
I see, I’m sorry to keep you waiting the tech representative I’m speaking with is currently checking

Mariane T (9:45 pm)
While we’re waiting, Can you please try this linkhttps://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows7

Me (9:46 pm)
Thats done it, thank you very much

Mariane T (9:46 pm)
You’re most welcome

--

--