丁|Ding
Czech D World
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2020

--

Day 1 | My Military Diary | Compulsory Military Service |Taiwan

2020.05.20 Wes. Rainy

We resembled at the train station near my home and then took the train, and a bus to get in the camp.

On the way to the camp, it was quiet and in order. I was calm but feel a bit uncertain. I don’t know if everyone takes the compulsory military service this easy. We were going to lose our freedom. The gray and unclear sky might indicate this unfortunate situation.

After getting inside the camp, we were asked to do security check, health test, write documents, and learn how to behave in the camp. Though we sat on the chairs, I still felt tired doing this whole day.

During the covid-19 situation, we are asked to keep safe distance and to wear mask, which is carried out seriously.

I feel like I am an idiot, while I didn’t think I would be. First, I had lunch longer than other batchmates, but I still felt starving. Second, I always forgot what to bring or to write.

My teammates are quite nice, at least the first impressions. I am labeled as 057 in this batch, which makes me feel like an object or prisoner. I have no idea about this normalization process, probably to make us equal.

So far, time here runs fast, unlike what my friends told me that it would be slow.

Not bad, my first day, just a bit thirsty, hungry and unfamiliar.

--

--

丁|Ding
Czech D World

先前在捷台灣學生,主要分享歐洲旅遊及生活相關經驗及觀察,偶有涉獵性/別及社會學議題。A Taiwanese student studied in the Czech Republic. Mainly share travel and life experience in Europe.