How do you describe HR in one word?

DingTalk
DingTalk
Published in
5 min readSep 27, 2018

A friend of mine asked, “How would you describe HR in one word?”

I answered, “Um. That’s a hard question,”

We both mull over the question for a while and my friend looked me and say, “Well, I guess if I really think about it. I feel like one word that describes HR is admirable”

“Why?”

Let me tell you a couple of stories of my experience or I heard about HR…”

Photographic memory?

Story 1:

Few weeks ago, my friend Mike went for an interview of a company. The interview got very smooth, Mike conquered the interviewer with his excellent coding work. While he was leaving the interview, the HR greeted him in the corridor.

“Hi! Long time no see, do you still remember me? I can’t believe it’s been three years since the last time I met you! Last time you came to interview as an English major senior student but interested in coding. This time when I saw you walked in I thought you walked into the wrong place. I’m glad you get to do coding now!”

Mike was shocked by the memory of this HRG

Story 2:

When I was first arrive in my company, one HRG led me around in the office to get to know everyone. Company has around 100 people. This HRG only came into the office 2 weeks earlier than me. She already knows most of the employees’ names. Not only their names, she also somehow memorized everyone’s hometown and birthdays. She wasn’t even holding any note whatsoever.

This is definitely a big HR Staff energy.

“Rain or snow, I will do anything I will cross seven oceans for my job”

Story 1:

A friend of mine started working as an HRG in a company and since it’s a startup company, she was the only one manning HR Department.

She was doing everything on her own, including but not limited to recruitment, attendance, archive management, payrolls, employees’ insurance, workshops and trainings, etc.

Other than the HR jobs, she was also doing things beyond an HR’s job description; conference supports, taxes and bills, even include social media management designing the logo for their brand.

At first, she would always post on her social media asking for help like, “Anyone here can design a logo? Help, PM me!”, “Anyone has a template for…?” “Anyone here knows how to build a simple web-page?”

She would always post these kind of things on her social media.

However, eventually, she stopped asking for help. At first, I thought she had found help. Turns out, she managed to learn everything by herself; photography, Photoshop, writing articles, even business negotiation. She had taught herself how to do it all. That’s a very admirable self-study

Story 2:

My house is a bit far from my current company. I have to wake up early to avoid traffic and get to work on time.

In my company there is this HR staff who always arrives early and goes home super late. Every single day, without failure. Because of this, I thought he must live nearby. In a causal conversation, I finally find out where he lives. Turns out, his place was so far from the office. He takes about 80 minutes every day to take metro and bus to come to work. Even far like this, he arrives office early every morning.

This HRG amazes me.

Anything and Everything

On the weekend, I went on a trip with a group of friends.

There was this girl that came along with all of us that no matter who she is with, she can always strike up a conversation. At first, she was with a couple of programmers talking about Java, Python, and other programming related stuff. Seconds later, she was with a group of girls, talking about the latest celebs’ gossips and cosmetics from this and that brand.

During our trip, she kept talking and recommending various outdoor activities here and there for us to try, dare I say she knew about more things than the locals.

I was so curious so I asked around about her, one of my friends told me that actually… She is an HRG.

These are some HRGs I heard about or I met. They are awesome. These admirable HRGs always be on top of things, they can manage chores in an in an organized way, put effort and focus on helping staffs grow by creating scientific career path like KPI settings, promotion path, workshops and training and, cultivate good culture of the company to make everyone feel important and cared. They have their own way to reduce chaos and increase their efficiency. They choose DingTalk, the all-in-one mobile workplace to nail down those time-consuming work like attendance.

DingTalk’s Attendance function can do all of your minor work. You don’t need to collect and count the attendance manually. Every day, DingTalk can give you and your manager a quick status update. With just one click, staff can easily clock-in once they arrive at the office. And you can export data every month. Even when someone applied for a leave, it will automatically have integrated with monthly data.

Also Announcement can be used to deliver important company message with one click, to make sure the information 100% reach each one.

Use DingTalk to achieve the maximum productivity and efficiency in your office.

  • Internal and External contacts are organized and maintained that will help you to keep the company’s data and information secure.
  • Mobile Attendance and Approval function that helps you to sort out the complicated paper trail and admin works. Don’t let paperwork and procedures slow down your business.
  • Quick and easy file collaboration on Ding Cloud, which integrated company chats, making sharing files between colleagues even easier. Free 100G storage for every registered organizations.

For more information about DingTalk, visit https://www.dingtalk.com/en

Register now you can get free deployment and chance of training provided by Alilbaba. http://tb.cn/0xs8dMw

--

--

DingTalk
DingTalk

Powered by Alibaba. Redefining Communication and Collaboration