What did writing on LinkedIn for 160+ Days taught me?

Dipti Rai
Dipti Writes
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2022
source: https://talkstudy.co/global-careers/how-to-write-a-linkedin-profile-summary-that-gets-noticed/

I have always expressed myself better through writing. Growing up, when I could not express myself, writing came as a rescue. I cannot tell you how therapeutic writing has been for me. I am not someone who has lakh of followers, but I have spent much time on this platform. This makes me a little credible enough to write this.

My LinkedIn journey started as a part of the 30 Days challenge. I am very grateful to some people who started that challenge and inspired me to write again.

When I started writing, I was doubtful about writing for 30 days straight. Will I have enough content to write? What if my colleague and friends find out I am writing here? It was scary thinking to write on a professional platform like LinkedIn. What if I write something wrong? Will my future employer like me? Since I already committed to the challenge of writing on LinkedIn. It made me more accountable, and I have now written around 160+ posts here.

Here are my top 7 learning from writing here:

1. A picture is worth a thousand words

The posts I have a picture performed well. I know putting pictures can seem uncomfortable at first, but they make you relatable and real.

2. Reading is important before writing

I have consumed a lot of content from various platforms. An outstanding writer is a reader first. Most of my post inspiration has come from reading other exceptional writers here.

3. Write your post as a bullet point

Yes, we all know it. Our attention span has reduced. People do not want to read long sentences. Writing simple and short sentences is a plus. If you can break your ideas into points, that is much better.

4. There will be days you will not feel like writing

I have written every single day, and it has made my writing monotonous. Writing every day is outstanding, but if you are getting bored and not feeling like it. You always can take a break and come back again. Consistent does not mean every day.

5. Likes and views make you feel good

I do not want to write for views, like, etc. But, who does not like it? Of course, I can deny it and say it does not matter. I have said it to myself many times. The harsh truth is it matters. I always keep myself aware when metrics like these rule my feelings. It is good for my ego but not for my mental well-being.

6. Writing every day is not comfortable

The more you create, the more you understand writing is not a simple job. Sometimes you can sit and bang your head for hours without writing a word. Other times, when your creative juices are running high, you will amaze yourself.

7. Counting the number of posts you write is a better metric

I have copied this idea from other writers here on LinkedIn. I have tagged #DayNo in all my posts. This is an excellent motivation for me to stay consistent. Every time I write and see my post count, it is a good feeling. When I am feeling good, I write better.

No matter why are you writing. It has no harm. It makes you think clearly and gives structure to your thoughts. People relating to you and you finding your tribe of people is a bonus for sure.

To rephrase my complete experience of writing on LinkedIn, I would say it is one of the best things I did for myself. If you are still contemplating writing. I would say start, the world is better when you express yourself. I hope you enjoyed reading this. If you do, please share a like, comment, etc. after all, they do matter.

--

--

Dipti Rai
Dipti Writes

I write about personal development, sensitivity, emotional wellness, and meditation.