How not to include disabled colleagues at Christmas

Scott Whitney
All 4 Inclusion
Published in
2 min readDec 7, 2023

Lets start by saying I’m not a huge Christmas fan and I’m not a huge fan of works nights out.

As last years Christmas meal got changed last minute to a venue that was not accessible, my employer was keen to make up for this. Just a shame that it was even worse than last year.

So the rough plan before I was spoken to was that it would be at the same non accessible venue as last year. So not the best of starts but when dates were confirmed I was asked where I would like to go.

“Anywhere accessible”, I replied. As this was too vague I had to choose a specific restaurant. I complied and a message was sent to our MD to book.

The office is pretty small and one person dropped out because the date didn’t work for her and another partly dropped out due to the venue. (It ended up the date wasn’t going to be suitable in the end either).

We knew the restaurant was booked, but a few weeks later someone asked the MD what time it was booked for. As soon as he replied 17.30, alarm bells started ringing. I checked my email to the organiser and it clearly stated that the earliest I can do in the part of town that most wanted it at was 19.30.

To cut a long story short, the finger was pointed at me because the restaurant chosen was just for me so I should compromise on the time. However, had I known the time had to be 17.30 I would have explained that my carers can’t be moved.

I told everyone no biggie and to head there without me. The organiser then decided he wouldn’t go either because it seems like favouritism towards him by having the table booked at 17.30. Then the booking was cancelled.

My brain was fried. I felt like not only can I not go, but I’ve now ruined it for everyone.

Next year, I’m just saying from the beginning, “I’m out”.

It will be a lot more forgiving on my mental health than the stress of this year.

Image from a feedback quotation. I learnt such a lot from this session, I wasn’t sure I was going to considering I already work in inclusion and have been to plenty of similar sessions. Scott bring something very unique to his talks.

--

--