Image Descriptions vs Alt Text: Why Both Matter!

Isaac Harvey MBE
All 4 Inclusion
Published in
5 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Imagine creating a masterpiece, a painting full of colours and emotions, yet when you show it to the world, some can only see a blank canvas.

This is a reality for millions of individuals when digital content isn’t made accessible.

A wooden easel with a blank white canvas stands against a cream wall.
ID: A classic wooden artist’s easel where you can see a white canvas ready and waiting for a masterpiece, and splashes of colour from past creations staining the wood. Or perhaps this is a painting that not many of us are able to see?

Every day, content creators share countless pieces of information online, but without the right accessibility measures, this content becomes inaccessible to many. And I also was one of these people who for years did not know that my content was a barrier for many and yes I was claiming to be a disability advocate.

A black man smiles from his wheelchair in front of a tall cathedral.
ID: Isaac, is looking down at the camera, sitting in his wheelchair with a magnificent cathedral towering behind him… I think the MBE has definitely got to his head. The cathedral tops reach high into the clear blue sky, and Isaac’s smile is just as bright! He’s rocking a floral shirt and his wheelchair’s decked out in a funky mismatched pair of socks — talk about style! I do have to say AI had written that which is definitely in his favour today.

Growing up with no arms, short legs, and using a wheelchair that I operate using my feet, this was my lived experience living in the world with a physical disability. I did have a couple of friends who did have different disabilities to mine but from what I know now compared to back then, my knowledge on the bigger picture was limited. It wasn’t until I ventured onto LinkedIn that I saw just how vast and varied the world of disability is.

Connecting with others in the community was like discovering a whole new realm of possibilities and perspectives. I honestly felt as if I had…

--

--

Isaac Harvey MBE
All 4 Inclusion

Disability advocate, content creator who is sharing unique stories from overcoming barriers to embracing life.