Continuing to Rise in Disability Inclusion Efforts with the USBLN

by Allison Chisenhall, Process Engineer, BAE Systems

DisMentors Coalition
#DisabilityMentors
5 min readAug 31, 2017

--

Editor’s Note: The below post was originally published on August 31, 2017 and is being shared with the author’s permission. The National Disability Mentoring Coalition is pleased to induct Allison Chisenhall into the Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame. Upon learning of her induction into the Class of 2017, Allison shared the the following words.

What does mentoring mean to you?
“For me, mentoring is about sharing experiences with each other to help improve others and yourself. Mentoring is not a one way street and it is essential for professional growth from both sides. I believe that all young adults, with disabilities or without, should utilize mentors and in turn offer their mentoring knowledge to others once they have developed those skills. Mentoring does not have to be a formal program, either. I recently mentored several young girls from my sorority who are feeling unsure of their future careers. Remember what it felt like then and use what you have learned and what you wish you had known to help those in that place. Everyone can be a mentor, and everyone should.”

“Everyone can be a mentor, and everyone should.”

— Allison Chisenhall, Class of 2017

Continuing to Rise in Disability Inclusion Efforts with the USBLN

Picture of four BAE Systems colleagues with Allison Chisenhall (on the far right) in front of a banner at the 2017 US Business Leadership Network Conference. One person is holding an award for BAE Systems being recognized as a top Disability Employment Index scorer. The group stands in front of a banner with USBLN, AAPD and DEI logos.

I never expected one experience to impact me the way that the USBLN Rising Leaders program did. I joined this program as a mentee in my senior year at Johns Hopkins University. I was about to graduate with my degree in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, with not a clue as to what I wanted to do with my career. The USBLN Rising Leaders Initiative, comprised of both a mentoring program and “Rising Leadership Academy” to develop professional skills in the presence of industry experts, showed me how I could transition from a laboratory setting to a manufacturing plant, helping me find where I “fit.” The program concluded with the USBLN conference, where I met a BAE Systems representative. As a result of meeting this representative, I now hold a position as a Chemical Process Engineer at BAE Systems.

Inspired by the impact that the Rising Leaders Mentoring program and the USBLN Conference had on me and my career path, I decided that I would attend the next annual conference, not as a mentee or participant, but as a representative of BAE Systems where I could reach out to and make a difference for recent graduates and current students with disabilities — which is exactly what I did.

When I attended the USBLN conference for the second time, I had a chance to speak during the luncheon to the entire conference, and the responses I received after my speech triggered a new feeling for me. Suddenly people who were only a year younger than me were asking me to mentor them; women were thanking me for representing individuals with disabilities and females in STEM and the fact that I was actually calling attention to these topics publicly. It was then that I realized I could make a difference in this community.

After this conference and my experience there, I opened myself up to many opportunities where I could make an impact. I became a mentor for the Rising Leaders Program, a member of the Professional Development Track Committee, and was asked to be a speaker for two breakout sessions at the 2017 USBLN Conference this August that focused on professional development and supporting millennials with disabilities in the workplace. These breakout sessions focused primarily on retaining disabled millennials long term and learning skills for lateral and upward career mobility. Additionally, I was featured on my company’s corporate website, highlighted in a profile piece in the AIChE CEP Magazine, became a member of the Abilities Beyond Limits and Expectations (ABLE) Employee Resource Group at my company, and a member of the Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame; and now, I’m sharing my story with you on LinkedIn…

Diversity and inclusion is such an important topic today. Every day, there are people who struggle at their jobs over challenges that aren’t work related. Employees realistically spend more time working than with their own families and it is essential that the workplace evolves to support a diverse population. And for me, I aim to support diversity and inclusion in the workplace by educating the younger workforce on the importance of disclosing their disabilities, suggesting ideas for reasonable accommodations that may improve their success, and helping them to learn how to be confident in their differences, while channeling them as a source of strength. I’d like them to realize that their disability is not a weakness.

I encourage individuals to find an employer that recognizes and supports diversity and inclusion and I am lucky enough to be a part of a community at BAE Systems that embraces diversity and inclusion. I strongly believe that a workplace culture that embraces these values can have a great impact on overall happiness.

This year, I attended the USBLN Conference as a mentor, a speaker, and a passionate member of the community- I was ecstatic to be back. The conference grows every year, and I am excited to be growing into my own place in this essential community.

Picture of Allison Chisenhall, Process Engineer, BAE Systems, and Mentor

Originally published at https://www.linkedin.com on August 31, 2017.

About the Author: Allison Chisenhall is a Chemical Process Engineer for BAE Systems, a passionate disability inclusion advocate, and a 2015 graduate of The Johns Hopkins University. Through her involvement in the U.S. Business Leadership Network — an organization dedicated to transforming the workplace for those with disabilities — in both the mentoring programs and annual conferences, Allison has established a strong role in the disability inclusion community, sharing her story with multiple organizations, coworkers, and peers regularly. This involvement has recently resulted in three very exciting honors: being featured in the AIChE CEP Magazine, being inducted into the Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame, and being invited to present her work to the local AIChE Chapter! In her free time, Allison enjoys traveling, cooking, and teaching fitness classes!

About the National Disability Mentoring Coalition: The mission of the National Disability Mentoring Coalition (NDMC) is to increase the awareness, quality and impact of mentoring for individuals with disabilities across the nation. Member organizations share core values and align with the Coalition’s objectives to streamline communication, standardize and systematize data collection, reduce duplication of efforts, increase mentoring opportunities, and improve outcomes for youth and adults with disabilities. Learn more about the NDMC, review its Membership, and visit the Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame at www.disabilitymentors.org. You can also follow NDMC on Twitter or email us at dshields@forwardworks.net.

This #DisabilityMentors publication is a space for individuals to share stories and testimonials to elevate the importance of establishing a national disability mentoring policy and increase funding to enable more mentors to raise expectations, build confidence and positively impact youth and adults with disabilities.

--

--

DisMentors Coalition
#DisabilityMentors

The National Disability Mentoring Coalition publishes content to increase the awareness, quality and impact of mentoring for youth and adults with disabilities.