How to create triggers that induce states of FLOW.

Calvin Tribelhorn
Discipline is Freedom
6 min readOct 1, 2018

I recently read the Art of Learning by Josh Waitzkin and was so floored by the chapter on building triggers to induce FLOW, that I couldn’t resist the opportunity to test the techniques myself.

If you haven’t read the book, Josh helps a business executive who is struggling to stay focused in meetings to build routines that can be compressed into triggers that induce states of flow whenever needed.

I was so inspired that I built my own routine for flow and the results have been extraordinary. As a test, my goal was to calm the anxiety I experience when flying. I travel a lot to West Africa: Nigeria, Benin, Liberia and Ghana, to be specific.

But before I explain how I went about building these routines and compressing them into triggers, it’s probably worth discussing what FLOW is.

It was Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (“Me high? Cheeks send me high!”) who first popularised the term in his book Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience. In it he describes flow as

“a state in which people are so involved in an activity that nothing else seems to matter; the experience is so enjoyable that people will continue to do it even at great cost, for the sheer sake of doing it.”

Any professional surfer, skydiver or skier will echo this sentiment. But this doesn’t exclusively pertain to extreme sport seekers as writers, programmers, surgeons and craftsmen share this notion too.

Individuals in FLOW will often spend hours on a project, dissolving the boundaries between themselves and what they are doing. A timeless space where the action is effortless, and focus is amplified

“The best moments in our lives are not the passive, receptive, relaxing times… The best moments usually occur if a person’s body or mind is stretched to its limits in a voluntary effort to accomplish something difficult and worthwhile.”

– Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi

How I create triggers for FLOW?

In the Art of Learning, Josh asks the business executive to think back to a time when he was completely present, happy and without stress. For him, it was playing catch with his son.

The first step in building a routine that can facilitate FLOW is to identify an activity that naturally brings yourself into this state. For me, this is either rock climbing, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu or surfing.

The nature of these sports requires an almost zen-like focus. Which is great for turning on FLOW.

The important thing to note is not what the activity is, but how it makes you feel. Think back to a time when you were completely present. There was no worrying about your to-do list, there was complete freedom in whatever you were doing.

It is important to get this first step right. The routine you will create will be anchored to that feeling of FLOW your chosen activity gives you.

Once you’ve identified your activity, build a routine, that will over time, trigger FLOW on demand.

Just like Pavlov’s dog, the routine alone will eventually trigger you into a state of FLOW. Over time, the routine can be compressed into a single action that will bring you the same benefits as the full routine, allowing you to tap into some very powerful and resourceful states when and where you need it.

For the executive, it was something as simple as playing catch with his son. It doesn’t have to be an extreme sport to get you into a state of FLOW. If you lose track of time writing or crafting pottery, that will work as well.

Action Step:

Brainstorm a list of activities that open you up to flow. If you don’t have any, there are various ways to discover these activities.

The fastest way to potentially find these activities is by saying yes to things more often. A great question to ask yourself is “When was the last time you did something for the first time?”

The more exposure you have to new ideas and activities, the more likely you are to find something that resonates with you.

Crafting your routine.

For one month, I performed my routine before grappling in jujitsu or rock climbing.

My routine was chosen because of the nature of high-performance activities that get me into flow. But having said that, whatever your routine is, it doesn’t really matter. As long as it leaves you feeling energised and centered.

First, I made a drink with Apple Cider vinegar, lemon and heaped spoon of 56 different green vegetables in powdered form with water.

I then did some basic breathing exercises. I inhaled for six seconds through my nose and then exhaled as much out as possible for two seconds before immediately breathing in for another six seconds. I repeated this pattern ten times, and the energetic effect this had on my body was palpable.

I felt my veins surge with electricity, a pulsating throb in my hands, and my entire body was relaxed and energised through breathing alone.

After breathing, I got comfortable and did a mindfulness meditation for ten minutes, sitting and observing my breath come and go, while not getting swept up in the tide of thoughts passing through.

I then followed up the routine with a ten-minute stretch, focusing on releasing my spine, legs and shoulders. I wrote one thing I was grateful for and finally listened to the same playlist as I drive to jujitsu.

I noticed that whenever I grappled or rock climbed, I was so acutely focused and intentional while practicing that it stunned me to realise that the 2-hour class has flown by in the blink of an eye.

My ability to perform more difficult manoeuvres has since improved significantly as well as the speed at which I learn new skills.

Condensing the routine into a single trigger.

After a month of performing this routine, I began to go through it every time I had to travel.

My initial approach was to do as much of the routine in the sky as possible when the anxiety crept in.

However, the results of the routine were so effective and the effects so long-lasting that there has been absolutely no anxiety at all.

Even on one occasion when I questioned the sobriety of the pilot on his landing.

The next part of the process was to begin condensing the routine into triggers that had the same effect in a fraction of the time.

To begin the process of slowly reducing the routine to a single activity, I started performing it every day before work to start the day in the best possible way.

After coming home feeling tired in the evenings, I performed only 50% of the routine before continuing with work.

For example, just performing the breath-work and the meditation without the stretching or journaling. What I noticed was that the routine was so ingrained to that state of flow, that by only performing half, I would get the exact same benefits of the full routine.

I now had something truly powerful in my arsenal. I can now at will, get into the zone of FLOW with only 1 minute of breath-work and 10-minutes of meditation.

As I progress, my goal is to slowly minimise the time I need to meditate to get the same amount of benefit, until I am only left with the single minute of breathing to get me into FLOW whenever I need it.

The power of states.

As human beings, we tend to over complicate things. But getting to where you want to be is much simpler than most think.

It’s about doing the right things consistently. And most people know what they need to do to get to where they want to be, but just don’t want the hard part of doing it.

We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them. — Albert Einstein

By focusing on the states we find ourselves in when tackling challenging problems, we can tap into a vast ocean of resourcefulness and creativity.

When we are feeling lethargic and unmotivated, instead of bashing our heads against the wall, we can step back and focus on changing our state of mind before tackling the problem.

Simple things like flow routines or cold showers can have a huge impact when we revisit the problem from this new state of mind.

How much more prepared are we when tackling problems from this perspective instead of just stewing in whatever state we tend to find ourselves in?

Because in the end, the only thing we have absolute control over is our state of mind. Nothing else. Get that right, and you’re already well on your way to living your best life.

Want to learn how to hack your biology? Discover the hidden Breath-work techniques used to heighten performance and concentration. Famously practiced by athletes, Navy SEALS, and even yoga practitioners.

--

--