What is the Discipline of Action?

Hiong
Discipline of Action
2 min readMay 12, 2016

The Discipline of Action is a project that I’m starting to try and get my life into gear. Don’t get me wrong, I’m generally a pretty happy guy, however I feel like I’m coasting along through life when I could be doing so much more.

Most of us have these life dreams that we “hope to do one day”, some of them are a fairly common, almost universal, like “write a book” or “learn a language” and sadly the truth is that most of us will never achieve these dreams, life will get in the way.

Then there are the smaller goals such as giving the bedroom a new coat of paint, or getting in touch with an old friend that we never get round to doing.

Over the years I have read numerous books and articles, watched hundreds of videos and seen a countless number of motivational memes but nothing ever changed. My dreams remained dreams and that friend that I wanted to contact always remained out of contact.

I am tired of coasting through life. I am scared that I am going to look back on my life and think that, while it was a good life, I ultimately let myself down by not living to my full potential. I know that may sound contrived and self-indulgent but I don’t want to have to tell my kids/grandchildren the cliched advice of “It’s not the things that I did that I regret, it’s the things that I didn’t do”.

Basically, now I am committed to taking action in my life rather than coasting along. This collection of articles are to document my journey from “Coaster” to “Doer”

Manifesto*

  1. Do the 10 second jobs now
  2. Keep on moving. Even on the days that it’s a struggle just plod on.
  3. Do things that scare you. Embrace the fear.
  4. The world doesn’t owe you anything
  5. Never stop learning. Never stop appreciating.
  • This manifesto is a live document, it may change and evolve. I will write a more detailed article on each element of the manifesto as part of the project.
@findhiong

--

--