Bill Maher, uncivilized

Henryk A. Kowalczyk
Dialogue & Discourse

--

I do not regularly watch Bill Maher’s show, but when I do, I usually like it. The man is bright, his lines are sharp. He has his ideological leanings, and often I do not agree with him. But I always admire his ability to corner others, respectfully, nevertheless mercilessly. In our politically deeply divided society, I always have seen Bill Maher as one of the pillars of the civilized but pitiless, candid-to-the-bone conversations on controversial issues.

Under the Trump presidency, the political conversations became even more polarizing. Whereas before demagogy and personal attacks occasionally had been tolerated, now in many public discussions they have become a standard. The way our president and top people from his administration talk about immigrants has established a new low in public conversation. Seeing opponents, or those perceived as opponents, as lesser humans than we are, has been accepted by too many.

I was never a fan of John McCain as he had his great moments and not-so-great ones, but, the way that President Trump attacked McCain I found distasteful and uncivilized. By continuing this after McCain died, President Trump broke one of the unwritten canons of civilized people: that we do not personally attack people who cannot defend themselves because they are dead.

--

--

Henryk A. Kowalczyk
Dialogue & Discourse

Many tell us what to think. I write to ask you to inquire. Question me. Have fun. Contact: hak1010@yahoo.com.