When Democrats Have Nominated a Man They Don’t Even Like.

I can’t shake the feeling that bad things are coming.

Lauren Elizabeth
Dialogue & Discourse
4 min readAug 20, 2020

--

William Thomas Cain — Getty Images

Well, it’s official.

Former Vice President Joe Biden has now officially accepted the nomination of the democratic party to be President of the United States.

You would think that after months of preparation knowing that this would happen, I would be beyond the point where it bothers me. But at this moment in time, I’ve begun to realize my frustration doesn’t come from a place of simply being disappointed. Rather, it stems from the fact that democrats have opted to coalesce around a candidate that they did not even like.

This genuinely doesn’t even have to do with Bernie. Of course, there’s a part of me that will never, ever forget the fact that after the tens of thousands of text messages I sent, the money donated, and the time and effort I and millions of other people contributed in order to help organize the Sanders campaign, Barack Obama was waiting for just the right moment to destroy everything that we had built and worked so hard for. On top of it, we’re told to sit down, shut up, be gracious in our “defeat”, and turn that energy towards electing Biden. Of course, there’s a part of me that will never get over the fact that democrats worked harder to stop a campaign that just…

--

--

Lauren Elizabeth
Dialogue & Discourse

Lauren is a writer & leftist with analysis on topics related to politics & policy. She can be reached at LaurenMartinchek@gmail.com or Twitter @xlauren_mx