看見台灣 | Discover Taiwan

Ten Questions with Taiwan Photographer Bo Wen Huang

After taking photographs for over ten years, Bo Wen Huang (黃柏雯) knows what he wants in front of his camera: mountains

Hana Bredstein
Discover Taiwan

--

But if you ask him, beginning photographers should keep their scope broad, draw inspiration from many sources and take pictures of different subjects and locations.

Bo Wen has nearly 17,000 followers on Behance, sharing photos of beautiful landscapes, city streets, and abandoned buildings.

I recently had a chance to ask the photographer, who lives near Yangmingshan, about what inspires him, what he hopes viewers take from his work and his thoughts on the changing art of photography.

Many of Bo Wen’s photos feature sunsets, including this one taken on a phone. (courtesy of Bo Wen Huang).

How did you get into photography?

Bo: About 10 or 12 years ago, I started taking photos. Around that time, I read a book with lots of guidance on how to take landscape photos.

I forget the name, but there are plenty of practical books like it. Later, I also watched YouTube videos and looked at other online resources for tips.

What are your favorite things to photograph?

Mountain landscapes (I live at the foot of a mountain), people in the city. I enjoy finding little corners, small streets, and alleyways.

What reaction do you hope people have when they see your photographs?

I hope people get a peaceful feeling from my work.

This photograph of a rare snowfall in Yangmingshan was captured in 2018. (courtesy of Bo Wen Huang).

Which photographers inspire you?

Alan Schaller, Jimmy Chin.

What would you choose if you could photograph anything anywhere in the world?

I would choose New Zealand, Iceland, Scotland — wild places there, mountains.

What hobbies do you have outside of photography?

I like to hike and visit ruins (both ancient and modern abandoned houses). I like tranquil places, not too crowded, and without many people.

What are your thoughts on using photography to represent Taiwan? What impression of Taiwan do you hope to give your viewers?

I haven’t traveled much personally, but I hope my work will allow people abroad to appreciate the beautiful scenery of Taiwan.

This is why I use Behance; many of the users are foreigners. I don’t necessarily hope to attract travelers to Taiwan with my photos, but I want people to draw inspiration from a new place when they see my work.

Everyone knows the places I mentioned, New Zealand, Iceland, Scotland, etc., but not many people hear about Taiwan’s landscapes.

An abandoned house is pictured in this undated photo. (courtesy of Bo Wen Huang)

What new directions would you like to explore in your work?

I would like to see more movies and observe the craft of painters and other artists. I’m no painter or producer, but maybe seeing the process of different mediums will inspire me.

Regarding recent developments in art and photography, I don’t trust things like NFTs; they seem immature and don’t interest me.

Phone or camera?

A phone is convenient, I use it for videos and wide landscapes, but I’m also used to bringing my camera around for the telescopic lens.

When taking pictures of people, they tend to get shy around a big camera, so using a phone is easier, as it doesn’t make people uncomfortable.

What advice do you have for beginners?

I have some suggestions for those new to photography: when you are first starting, your subject matter should not be too limited.

And not just the subject but the style as well. Try everything! Try different themes to discover what you like, look at movies, illustrations, and digital artwork — expand your sources of inspiration!

The majesty and beauty of mountain scenery are revealed through the photographer’s lens. (courtesy of Bo Wen Huang)

To see more of Bo Wen’s work, follow him on Behance and Instagram!

--

--