RELATIONSHIPS / POLYAMORY

5 Benefits Of Polyamory (That You Didn’t Expect)

Sometimes the best things in life are unanticipated

Tom Brand
Discovering Polyamory
5 min readMay 4, 2021

--

There are many reasons people decide to explore ethical non-monogamy. And, let’s be honest, for most of us that initial reason was sex.

I’m not saying this is true for everyone. For some, it could be a desire for increased emotional connections. For others, the freedom to retain their personal lives without the perceived need to “settle down”.

But whatever led you on the first steps of your journey, I believe you are going to find that the most rewarding and satisfying things you will find are not what you were expecting.

And so here are 5 things I have gained from polyamory that I never saw coming.

The friends and the community

Sex with multiple people is great, but have you ever made a really good friend?

I’m putting this first, as for me this has been one of the most significant elements of my journey into polyamory. I came into ethical non-monogamy looking for sex. But the number of people I’ve slept with is vastly smaller than the number of friendships I’ve made along the way.

--

--

Tom Brand
Discovering Polyamory

Blogging about polyamory, ethical-non-monogamy, and modern relationships | (He/Him) | DiscoveringPolyamory.com | ko-fi.com/discoveringpolyamory