Tess: Explained

Tony Faieta
Tess
Published in
2 min readOct 18, 2017

What is Tess?

Tess is a mobile app (Android and iOS) that allows users to record high-quality audio straight from their phone. We’re still in beta, but we have high hopes for what people can create with Tess.

Cool, tell me some more?

Nick Ruspantini and I, Tony Faieta, both founded Tess the weekend after my 20th birthday. We had this crazy idea to create a podcast that explained fan-theories of our favorite TV show, Rick and Morty. So after a couple of Google searches we quickly realized that starting a podcast was a much more expensive investment than we thought. I mean, you need microphones, audio editing software and a computer. Nick and I weren’t okay for that.

So we figured, “Hey, why don’t we build an app that somehow can make audio from your phone sound really good?”.

And so that leaves us where we are today. I am writing this on October 18th, 2017, and our beta for Tess releases December 10th. You can expect Tess to be able to record audio in a social network style environment, you can expect that audio to be slightly better than normal.

I’ll be honest, there are many more things that we would’ve liked Tess to have before it’s first beta, but Nick and I wanted to move fast. There is a great episode of the “Masters of Scale” Podcasts, hosted by Reed Hoffman that says the following quote:

“If you’re not embarrassed by your first product release, you’ve released it too late”.

So here ready for you all, ready for the world, is the first release of Tess.

Sign up here for our beta:

https://goo.gl/forms/ssD4woi7pt1dnw6I2

--

--

Tony Faieta
Tess
Editor for

I’m a technical lead happily working @KnackTech with some amazing people (we’re hiring!). Proud University of Florida alumnus.