Six science podcasts to bookmark now

Dorothea Axelson
Discovery Matters
Published in
3 min readAug 25, 2020

It is an understatement to call me a fan of podcasts. Since I was a young intern at a newsradio station in Seattle, Washington, I had a fascination with stories that let you fill in your own illustrations. When finished with my shift as morning news editor, I used to go to all the evening recordings of “The Adventures of Harry Nile,” written by Seattle’s own Jim French and voiced by my much-missed friend Phil Harper.

Young Dodi at KIRO Newsradio. Above: Bill Yeend and Linda Thomas. Below: Dan Restione, Linda Thomas, Bill Yeend, and me.

I learned to appreciate ear candy from these theatrical radio shows. To this day, podcasts keep me company while taking a daily walk. I have yet to embrace podcast fiction, but it’s on my to-do. I have a list of favorites on humor, news, and general interest… but since my work is focused on life sciences, my bookmarks have tilted heavily to science podcasts.

There are some terrible ones, for sure. Anyone recording with a speaker should give up and spend time on something else. Just because the topic is scientific doesn’t mean you should be in your tiled lab when you record. Sound design is the art that drives the narrative. As a listener, I appreciate the weave of a good story that creates a vivid experience through carefully crafted audio. The six podcasts below are my must-listens — but if you have any to add, please comment!

Quick aside: Let’s assume that you’ve already bookmarked Discovery Matters, the podcast from Cytiva, co-hosted by me and our VP of Marketing Conor McKechnie. We’re now celebrating our first full year of podcasting with this one, thanks to the dogged efforts of our executive producer Andrea Kilin. Our latest episode is timely — we spoke to the scientists at the University of Queensland about their candidate vaccine in the fight against COVID-19. So, please listen and rate us. Then, and only then, should you try these:

1) The Story Collider. This is a beautiful collection of personal stories from scientists. In a recent episode, the presenters offered stories of how life as scientists didn’t turn out as prescribed. As someone living her own life’s Plan B, it appealed to me. But nearly every episode is relatable not just because it’s scientific, but because it’s human. I suspect the podcast may have been inspired by The Moth, one of the greatest podcasts ever, and proof that storytelling is not a dying art.

2) The Read Out Loud by STAT. Excellent reporting, less than excellent sound engineering. It can be annoying the way they interview colleagues as “guests,” but then I live in a glass house. The show is improving in its presentation and pace. Every episode with a ‘lightning round’ is somewhat inspired. STAT is my 20-minute go-to for industry updates.

3) Tech Nation. I have a girl crush on Moira Gunn. She used to work at NASA, need I say more? Her interviewing skills are up there with Terry Gross, one of the greats. I like Tech Nation because it’s often a bit longer, and Moira Gunn begins each episode with “Take Five,” an audio blog of observations or recollections. It’s a good, smart listen.

4) Life Science Marketing Radio. This is my newest addition. It’s also an interview format, but so relevant to my work that I had to listen. It’s like checking in to Mr. Rogers’ neighborhood to audibly meet the marketers in the biotech community. This podcast is my way of feeling like I’m extending my network without travelling.

5) Medicinvetarna (in Swedish). I admire the structure in this podcast. Full disclosure: I know the presenter Andreas Andersson, so I started listening “to be a good friend.” I kept listening because this podcast has good conversation, audience feedback and interaction, it’s produced at high quality, and it always teaches me something. Yum, or as the Swedes would say, “mums”.

6) Plenary Session. Another longform audio treat, these episodes extend often beyond one hour, sometimes beyond two. Dr. Vinay Prasad covers medicine, oncology, and health policy. You see why it’s long, and I promise, it’s worth the time investment.

Let me know which ones you listen to, or which ones I’ve missed!

--

--