Leadership: Why directness is always the best policy (My opinion).

Nick Morgan
Disruptive Leaders Journal
4 min readMay 3, 2024
A thumbnail for this blog: Leadership: Why directness is always the best policy (My opinion).

Honesty is the best policy, as they say, but directness can be a hot topic and seldom appreciated by everyone. So why on earth would I advocate for this behavior as a standard in leadership?

I want to explain first why I adapted and changed how I approach situations. About ten years ago, I started my first leadership role; I had never had a great employer-employee relationship. Therefore, I wanted to lead through compassion, friendliness, and openness. People themselves are intelligent, and by being nice, this behavior should be reciprocated, right?

In actuality, people walked all over me, and by creating this subservient persona, I became afraid of confrontation, avoided it at all costs, and allowed things to take place that I never should’ve.

Aside from being very young and figuring myself out, I was also keen to go against the grain and went far too deep into a personality that wouldn’t confront things. I was on the spectrum, and being direct was who I was, but I toned that down too far, so much that I became a pushover and wasn’t respected by the people I worked with.

After years of failing at leadership, I started to think deeply about the leader I wanted to become. I wanted to be honest, direct, uncompromising on important issues, and compassionate, but never pushed around. I realized that the ideal image I had in my head of a true leader was my father.

My dad is wonderfully compassionate and funny but very blunt. He is always honest and calls out rubbish when he sees it. When I was younger, I thought my dad was aggressive, but as I became older, I realised he was, in reality, just assertive. By being all these things and more, he had the most important quality in a leader: integrity.

I’d gone my whole life not appreciating the certainty and value my father had instilled in me simply by always acting with the utmost integrity. This didn’t mean he was perfect or never made mistakes. This meant he always acted with what he thought was best, made amends when a mistake happened, always owned things, and was a true champion of fairness.

What exactly are the pros?

I won't lie to you; sometimes, being direct gets you a bad rap. People may not appreciate your directness, you may upset feelings, and it can give you a “reputation.” However, I think that's simply because as a societal standard in the United Kingdom, this isn’t the norm, I think it gives you the ability to harness many pros, such as:

  1. Clarity in Communication: Being direct ensures that your message is clear and unambiguous. This reduces misunderstandings and ensures everyone is on the same page, which is crucial in a leadership role.
  2. Efficiency: Direct communication can lead to quicker decision-making and problem-solving, as it cuts through unnecessary details or diplomacy.
  3. Respect and Trust: While it might not always be welcomed initially, directness can foster respect and trust over time. People appreciate knowing where they stand, and a leader who communicates directly is viewed as honest and transparent.
  4. Empowerment: Leaders can empower their team by being direct. Clear expectations and feedback encourage autonomy and confidence among team members.
  5. Problem Resolution: Directness allows leaders to address issues as they arise, preventing small problems from becoming bigger issues due to avoidance or unclear messaging.

Giving people certainty of your position is always going to be a long-term boon in your relationship. I think, in reality, everyone wants to know where they stand, even if it’s not in a good position. There is no room for interpretation, but this also gives you the opportunity to address the state of that relationship and improve things.

What are the cons?

As I mentioned previously, there are cons and I think these should always be considered carefully. However, I think by creating an open, fair, and collaborative environment with people, these issues (If they crop up) can be resolved harmoniously. Let’s look at some of the cons:

  1. Perception of Insensitivity: Directness can sometimes be perceived as harsh or insensitive, especially if not handled with tact. This can affect interpersonal relationships and team morale.
  2. Resistance: Some individuals may resist direct communication, especially if they are used to a more nuanced or diplomatic approach. This can lead to conflict or disengagement.
  3. Misinterpretation: Without the right delivery, directness can be misinterpreted as aggression (as I mentioned in my introduction), leading to defensive reactions rather than constructive dialogue.
  4. Cultural Differences: In multicultural teams, what is considered direct in one culture might be seen as rude or disrespectful in another, complicating communication.

Why do I think the pros outweigh the cons?

While the cons of being direct involve significant risks, particularly in terms of interpersonal relationships and cultural sensitivity, the benefits of direct communication in leadership are critical.

The clarity, efficiency, and trust that comes from directness are foundational to effective leadership.

The potential drawbacks can often be mitigated through careful consideration of tone and context, ensuring that directness does not cross into insensitivity.

Moreover, the authenticity and integrity that direct communication fosters are invaluable in building a leadership style that is both respected and effective.

In the end, being direct, when balanced with empathy and understanding, not only enhances decision-making but also strengthens team dynamics and aligns everyone toward common goals.

--

--