How is the Apple M1 going to affect Machine Learning? (Part 2)

Tommy Shrove, Ph.D.
Disruptive Nerd
Published in
5 min readDec 6, 2020

--

Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I received my Macbook Pro M1!

In my last article, I mentioned that I was purchasing a MacBook Pro M1 (16Gb). I have finally, finally received it. It took about 3–4 weeks to get it, but it’s finally here. Everything about it looks just like the last Macbook Pro (Intel version). Nothing has changed on the outside. Since I have received it, I started to install all the data science software mentioned in my last article to update you on what’s working and what’s not.

Recap

In my article mentioned above, I discussed the M1 processor architecture, performance, and software support. Since then, there have been updates on the M1 and what it can actually achieve. I mentioned some of the most widely used software and libraries used in Data Science. I speculated if I thought they (software and libraries) would work or not. Below, I will discuss each one with an addition of Docker support and how all the software and libraries are working out for me thus far.

Apple M1 and Software Support

Let me start by saying, everything to date has worked except for Docker. Rosetta 2 has been fantastic. What happens is that you install software has normal, nothing different. When you install new software, Rosetta takes…

--

--

Tommy Shrove, Ph.D.
Disruptive Nerd

Father/ Husband / Entrepreneur / Ph.D. in AI / Data Enthusiast/Leadership