Why Compte Louis Victoire-Lux de Montmorin-Saint-Herém Needs To Check His Privilege

Abbe Sieyes
Distillery 92
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2016

Foreword: I want to begin by stressing that this is article not meant to target anyone in particular. It is not my intention to make anyone feel personally marginalised by this discussion. I want the privileged orders to know that I hate them all equally.

Talking about privilege can be a thorny issue. A lot of ducs, viscomptes, princes, and marquis can get defensive when you suggest that their success in life may not all be down to personal ability. But should we consider the possibility that this defensiveness is simply down to pure ignorance?

No. Those guys are dicks and they know it.

Just look at this fuckin guy

But, just in case it is (it’s not) I’ll give a breakdown of what privilege is and how we can begin to address it:

What is privilege?

It is literally the law.

What can the aristocracy and the church do to address their privilege?

They can fucking die.

Now, I know what you’re all thinking, you’re all:

“But Abbé, you’re a member of the clergy, doesn’t that mean you get special privileges too?”

And you’d be right. And I do. And they’re totally sweet. But that doesn’t make them right. And anyway, get off my nuts, I’m doing the right thing here. I’m using my position of privilege to speak up for the oppressed when they can’t because they can’t read or whatever.

But you know who can read? The privileged orders. It’s 1788 bitch, there are no excuses anymore. Read some books about equality. It’s not like you’re busy. I mean what do you even do all day? I’m seriously asking. Because I know it isn’t bringing in the harvest. Look, I don’t mean to be dramatic but you are literally a parasitic disease and I’m not sure if you even count as people.

I know I’ve used some spicy rhetoric but I want to make it clear that I’m not advocating any rash actions. This system has been in place for hundreds of years and it will probably take hundreds of years of gradual change to fix. We have privilege enshrined in law in 1788 and it’s more than likely that everything will be totally the same in 1789. I’m calling it now.

Also, the King is totally fine, leave him out of this. We’re toight.

My man

Abbé out!

P.S Jacques Necker can suck my dick.

--

--