Gratitude — Message from the Superintendent

Erica Loiacono
District 200 Newsroom
3 min readNov 18, 2021

This week, students in Ms. Deinert’s 2nd grade class at Sandburg Elementary invited me to visit their classroom to show me the gratitude jars they made. Each student decorated a jar that represented who they were. Some of the jars were decorated with music notes, favorite colors, important people in their life, and special interests they have.

Inside the jars, students wrote out slips of paper detailing what they are grateful for. Students shared they were grateful for their family members; grateful for being in school; grateful for their friends; grateful for their pets; grateful for their teacher; and that they are grateful for their classmates. Throughout the week or even the day, anytime a student might feel a little sad or worried, they can take out one slip of paper and remember something good in their life that they are grateful for. Research shows that finding moments of gratitude has a great impact on our mindset and that showing gratitude can make us happier people. I am grateful for incredible staff members like Ms. Deinert who provide opportunities for students to be reminded that they are loved and cared for by their school community.

I really enjoyed my time talking with these students. Before I left, I asked the students if it was alright with them if I included their classroom in my annual fall letter to our school community. The students overwhelmingly agreed to it, but also offered our school community a challenge. The challenge is simple — make your own gratitude jar. When I asked them why our broader school community should make their own gratitude jar, they answered by saying things like “being happy makes us better people;” “people will be less sad because we are paying attention to things that make us happy, not things that make us sad;” “when you see your jar and see your gratitudes it helps them come true;” “ it will encourage people to go out and do good things;” and “it will help happiness spread all over our community.” I was blown away by the responses from these 2nd grade students.

I left Sandburg with my own gratitude jar that is sitting on my desk in my office. In my gratitude jar, I have several slips of paper detailing what I am grateful for. I am grateful for a school community that is passionate about our children, our schools, and their learning. We have a strong system of education that is highly valued and regarded in this community, and this would not be possible without all of you. I am proud of our teachers, support staff, parents, administrators, and School Board who continue to come together to do what is best for students.

I wish you all a happy, restful, healthy and safe Thanksgiving Break.

Sincerely,

Dr. Jeff Schuler, Superintendent

--

--