Wiesbrook 5th grader receives a letter of a lifetime

Erica Loiacono
District 200 Newsroom
2 min readMay 5, 2022

Right before Spring Break 2022, Wiesbrook 5th grader Gracie May got all dressed up to present at the school’s wax museum presentation. Gracie May had spent the last several weeks researching and getting to know one of her role models, Supreme Court Justice Amy Coney Barrett.

Gracie May was very enthusiastic about learning about Justice Barrett and, in particular, she was inspired by how Justice Barrett was able to achieve so much professionally while also remaining a devoted mother. After the presentation, Gracie May and her parents took a chance and sent Justice Barrett a video of her presentation and mailed it to the justice’s office in Washington, D.C.

Justice Barrett opened and watched the video and sent Gracie May the nicest hand-written note saying:

“Dear Gracie May,

Thank you so much for sending me a copy of your video project about my biography. I loved it! My daughter Juliet and niece Amelia happened to be in my office when I watched it, and they loved it too. They are both in fifth grade, just like you.

Sincerely,

Amy Coney Barrett”

Justice Barrett’s daughter, Juliet, also wrote in the letter saying,

“Hi, this is Juliet, Justice Barrett’s 5th grade daughter. I loved your presentation! I did a wax museum in 3rd grade. I was the Wright brothers, but it would be a lot more fun to be my mom!”

Gracie May proudly brought her letter to the school to show her classmates saying that the letter is something she’ll “keep forever.” Shine on, Gracie May. The future is bright!

--

--