Do You Love Getting a Massage?

Melinda Judy
Ditch the Grind
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2024
Photo By Authir

Come To Asia

I graduated from The Venice School of Massage Therapy in Venice, Florida in September, 1990, and for 15 years, from 1990 to 2005, I practiced massage therapy, working for both chiropractors and at massage establishments, while living in Florida and Colorado

I’ve always loved receiving one, but whenever I wanted a massage, I had to do an exchange with another massage therapist because paying for one would seriously break my budget.

A one-hour full body massage when I started practicing back in the 1990's was around 40 to 45 dollars. Now I understand it’s gone north to the 60-to-70-dollar range in the U.S.

Yesterday I walked into a massage establishment in Luang Prabang, Laos and got a 50-minute neck and shoulder massage for only 80,000 kip, equal to only $3.83 USD.

Massages in Malaysia and Thailand are also in that same price range.

There are also options for the type of massage you want. You can choose a full body hot oil massage or a specialized massage on your feet, neck and shoulders, or low back.

I got a Thai massage while staying in Bangkok. It required no oil and involved being gently stretched by the therapist while getting massaged.

I felt fabulous by the end of it.

So if you can afford the flight here, treat yourself to a massage. It’s well worth it and it won’t put much of a dent in your wallet.

--

--

Melinda Judy
Ditch the Grind

I want to share my travel stories and hear about those of others. Currently I am traveling on a shoestring retirement income.