I Forgot Rule Number 1 in Writing

Alice Roberson
Ditch the Grind
Published in
3 min readMay 1, 2024

How could I forget the golden rule in writing?

Photo by Jan Kahánek on Unsplash

I read it. I got excited about it. And I was doing it. Then stopped.

Every day I find something interesting on the news, online, or on my job that directs me to my digital writing pad (I’ll call it Medium for the sake of argument). And every time something new is formed. A word, sentence, paragraph, or a story. Either way it’s what I’ve been missing.

Everything seems so chaotic and yet I have no completed draft. Just words on the screen, on a page in my journal, in my mind floating. Maybe I’m overthinking this writing thing.

Hobby or Lifestyle

A hobby is something you do when you want to segue from reality. I write sometimes. Not all the time. Is it a hobby? I didn’t think so.

I don’t know.

Maybe I made a mistake.

Lifestyle takes commitment. It takes time. I often think about the time I spent earning my undergraduate and graduate degrees while working full-time. That’s commitment. All for the sake of improving my lifestyle. Right? Wrong.

A lifestyle is what makes living worth the while. I don’t work to live, I live to work. I don’t love the 9–5 but I do it to sustain my daily needs. I want to move from the constraint of a desk. I want to live.

Want or Need

I want to do what’s right, but I also want to do what makes me happy. Isn’t that what we all want? The things that make us happy are what drives us to our core.

However, I need to make ends meet to sustain the comforts of this life I’m living.

The essential problem I have encountered is that my wants cry out from the pit of my needs. And there is no reconciliation.

Everything I want isn’t everything that I need.

Wants are the desires that escape us and tends to make us feel out of control. I want a mansion, a yacht, a chalet in France, and beach front property in Maui. But what I need is a nice ranch home, a good job, friends, and family.

Where is the balance?

Or is that arbitrary?

Golden rule

In all, I forgot the golden rule of being a writer and that is to write. Write daily to build stamina. Write daily to improve skill. Write daily to gain confidence. The key is to write.

I went from earnings to $0 in one day.

Why?

Not writing.

I need to write. And I need to write often. I want to write. Because I love to wordsmith. I have something to say, advice to give, and a voice that needs to be heard.

I’m back. See you tomorrow.

Thank you for reading. I had a momentary lapse but I’m back.

--

--

Alice Roberson
Ditch the Grind

Retirement bound caregiver of loved one with dementia. Bucket list: learn to swim-Check, start a business-Check. Renewed sense of purpose-Writer.