My $1,000 First Month Just Became More Real

Ryan Canady
Ditch the Grind
Published in
3 min readFeb 7, 2024
Photo by Frank Leuderalbert on Unsplash

My heart did more than a little flutter when I checked a very key website today and saw what I had been looking for.

It does not necessarily take a lot for me to get excited about something related to the practice of writing.

I find so many things to be joyous about it!

What happened today takes the cake though as far as the level of thrill that jolted through my soul, and it all has to do with my $1,000+ January.

What I saw today was that all of my hard work for the last 47 days hasn’t just been a daydream.

Rather, there is real and tangible evidence that I am making things work well for me here on Medium.

So, what is this proof that has given me such a lift?

It’s the confirmation of my total payment of $1,012.53 hitting my Stripe account!

Even More Motivated for a Stronger February!

Photo by Kevin Oetiker on Unsplash

It’s not like just because I saw the first $1,000 payment come through that this is it for me.

I have taken the word of my payment going through as another motivating factor to continue to write and produce outstanding content.

Sure, $1,000 landing in the account is nice, but imagine what it will feel like when that number climbs to even higher levels!

What will my heart and soul feel like when I see an amount that 3x, 5x, even 10x as much as today’s?!

I know, I know, I need to keep it reeled in.

Still, it is incredibly exciting to see your hard work paying off, and it is exactly the fuel to the fire that I needed today to keep pressing hard.

Once a Month Payments are Ideal

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

The once per month payout schedule might be a less frequent schedule than you are used to getting paid out on.

I have other writing commitments that pay weekly, and a private client that often pays on an even more frequent schedule than that.

It is completely understandable to me that anyone who is attempting to live solely off of the money they earn on Medium would feel quite a bit stretched.

However, you only have two options in that scenario:

  • 1) Make such a huge amount from Medium that you are able to cover all of your monthly expenses with what you make here.
  • 2) Have other streams of income that can help you get through the month.

I am attempting to do both of these things at the same time!

For now, $1,000 a month is not enough to cover all of my expenses and I have to have other sources of income.

However, someday I hope to earn enough here monthly that my other sources of income become an afterthought.

Let’s keep striving towards that goal!

--

--

Ryan Canady
Ditch the Grind

Lily (the dog) and I are on a quest to help educate and inform writers about this craft that we all love, join us!