Melody of the Dragon

Hernán Goicochea
Diversify This!
Published in
13 min readMar 6, 2020

Chinese Classical Music is considered to be one of the most popular traditional genres in Mainland China. Yet, within New York City exists a community of Chinese musicians that keep the tradition alive. And Wei Sun, a professional Guzheng player, is part of that community. Listen as she recounts her story.

This story can also be heard on Castbox, Spotify, Apple or Google Podcasts

– Script –

[Hernán Goicochea, host] Welcome to DiversifyThis! I am your host Hernán Goicochea.

For our first story, we will take you into the world of traditional Chinese music.

– Part I –

[Wei Sun] This song called “Fishing Boat Singing at Night.” It describes a scenery about the fishing man work hard for the whole day and got a lot from the sea.

[Hernán] This is Wei Sun. She is a professional musician from China who since October 2016, resides in New York City.

And what you are about to hear her play is a sample of Chinese classical music.

[Soundbyte — Wei playing the Guzheng]

[Hernán] Chinese Classical Music is one of the most popular traditional genres in mainland China. Especially within heavy-populated cities such as Beijing and Shanghai. In the United States however, very few are familiar.

Still, within New York City exists a community of Chinese musicians that keep the tradition alive. And Wei, is part of that community.

[Wei] The difference between Chinese and western instruments. They are different music styles, stages. Chinese have five notes: Do, Re, Mi, Sol, La. No Fa, no Ti. So, it sounds very… that sounds traditional. So when you hear that, maybe ah that’s Chinese music.

[Soundbyte — Wei playing the guzheng]

[Hernán] Unlike western style, Chinese classical music uses traditional plucked and bowed instruments like the Guzheng and Erhu. It is played either on solo instruments or in small ensembles. Usually tuned in a pentatonic, or five-note, scale, such songs like the one Wei is playing, typically portray aspects of Chinese cultural history that date back as far as three thousand years.

You may be familiar with one song titled “Huā Mùlán”. This song tells the story of a female warrior who dresses as a man and enlists in the imperial army.

[Mulan — Scene]

Sounds familiar? Well, back in 1998 Walt Disney premiered an animation film based on that very same story titled [Mulan — Soundbyte]

[Wei] My job here is Guzheng player and Guzheng teacher.

[Hernán] Wei’s instrument, the one she happened to play earlier, is the “Guzheng”, also known as the Chinese Zither.

[Wei playing Guzheng]

[Wei] Guzheng is one of the long history traditional instruments. There are twenty-one strings. It sounds like harp but we have different gestures, positions to play that. We use left hand to turn the strings. Maybe I play Do, I can change the Do [hums]. So, I think is the special place of the instrument, different from others.

[Hernán] In mandarin, the character Gü means “Ancient.” And Zhēng refers to its original name. “Ancient” Zheng, in other words.

Such musical instrument is typically made out of wood, has a length of sixty-four inches, and a large, resonant soundboard made from Paulownia plants. It is considered the most popular among the Chinese Zither family. Even further, behind each one contains more than 2,500 years of history.

According to Chinese history, the Guzheng was once considered a palace instrument meant to inspire peace and tranquility. During the country’s revolutionary era however, it wasn’t looked upon so well. But as time passed and China’s economy developed, owning a Guzheng now resembles a symbol of status.

[Wei] It’s already the most popular, except piano, instrument in China. So, many children, many kid’s parents let them to learn Guzheng. There are so many performances around New York City. There are so many Chinese born in America, so there are so many students.

– Part II –

[Hernán] I first met Wei back in May 2018, while riding the subway, on my way to Manhattan from Queens. It was then, while riding, I noticed her standing inside, close to the sliding doors. She was holding on to what appeared to be a tall and heavy black instrument case. Out of curiosity, I approached her and asked what exactly was that she was holding. Of course at the time, I had no idea who she was, nor what she did.

[Wei] I carry my instrument around the New York City. At the time. I don’t have the car so I have to take the subway with carrying my instrument to perform around the city. I didn’t notice you but you come to ask me what’s the instrument. So, I didn’t think too much. I just think “Oh it’s very interesting for you, you’re full of curious.” Of that, I knew you were a journalist.

[Hernán] At the time we met, Wei had been living in New York City for almost two years. And by the time this interview was conducted, she was about to reach three years. In that time span, I followed up with her via social media and noticed she was quite a popular figure.

Since coming to live in the U.S., Wei has performed as a professional musician inside many popular concert halls around New York City. At times. as a soloist. Other times, as part of a trio band or as a featured artist for the Chinese Music Ensemble of New York, the largest and oldest Chinese classical orchestra in the western hemisphere.

[Wei] I been performed in so many venues like Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, Bryant Park, Markin Hall, Columbia college and Queens College and like town halls. Oh, United Nations and Times Square.

[Hernán] One of Wei’s most astonishing performances took place back in December 19, 2017, inside the Carnegie Hall, one of the most prestigious concert venues in the world for both classical and popular music. It is the very same venue where many legendary jazz and popular music figures once performed. Figures such as Benny Goodman, Billie Holiday, Ike and Tina Turner, and The Beatles.

[Hernán] What you are about to hear now is sound-footage from that night.

[Soundbyte — Wei playing “Dance of the Yao Tribe” inside Carnegie Hall]

[Hernán] That night, was Wei’s first time performing inside during an event called ECHO: Modern Resonance of Chinese Instruments.

There, dressed eloquently in a tall, red short-sleeve ballroom gown, she showcased the modern sounds of traditional Chinese instruments paired with Western and electronic ones alongside other musicians.

In particular, Nan Zhang and Lu Liu, two of her close friends and music colleagues whom together, all form part of a trio band called Strings W.

[Wei] One is Erhu player, another one is Pipa player. So, we all play together and perform together.

[Hernán] Again for those who don’t know, “Erhu”, also known as the Chinese violin, is a two-stringed bowed instrument. And if you happen to live in New York City, you may have spotted an older Chinese man play such instrument around Canal Street or Main Street — Flushing.

The “Pipa,” on the other hand, also known as the Chinese lute, is a four-stringed instrument. It’s shape is similar to a guitar.

Both, like the Guzheng, are also essential components utilized in Chinese classical music.

[Wei] That’s why we decided to build a band called “Strings Wing”. But we used just the “W” right? So when we wanted to, the W is opened meaning. You can say “Strings Women”, you can say “Strings Wind” like the wind and others. It’s very open. So, that’s why we choose that only one W. So, you can say anything to express our band.

[Hernán] That night, in fact Wei, along with the other two members of Strings W, anchored the event.

[Wei] I’m very honored to play there. It’s very professional concert halls. There are so many audience from all over the world. So I’m very honored to play our country’s instruments to introduce our culture to the audience from the world. Very exciting!

– Part III –

[Hernán] At thirty-two years of age, Wei has accomplished lots throughout her music career. But just who exactly was this person? As I got a chance to sit down and have a further conversation with her, I realized there was more to Wei than meets the eye.

[Wei] My family all play music, Chinese traditional one. For example, when I was young, before the dinner time we have to play some instruments or sing something. Then we can eat. This is very funny. So, I think every weekend is the same way. We often perform at home.

[Hernán] Wei was born into a family of music artists on October 27, 1987 in the coastal province of Hebei, located in northern China.

[Wei] So my mom play “Erhu”. Erhu is one of the popular one in China. My uncle is “Jinghu”, “Erhu” player. My grandma is Beijing Opera singer. You know China has a lot, their family has one child. So, I just has cousins. So, I’m the only child. I play only with my cousins.

[Hernán] Because she is an only child, Wei’s mother heavily influenced her to initiate in performing arts at an early age.

[Wei] Before I started Guzheng, I learned to dance, folk dance, Chinese dance. When I start instrument, I choose the first one piano. After I graduate dance, I play Guzheng when I was eight years old. Because learn instrument, as a kid you don’t have any choice but your mom takes you to the class, it’s very necessary, whatever the weather. The weather bad or good, my mother insist to let me go to class, no stop the class. She is Erhu player too, so she can help me with my Guzheng class.

[Hernán] And at the sole age of nine, just one year after she started learning, Wei experienced her first live performance,.

[Wei] Of course very nervous first time, But after that, I feel very achievement. Maybe the first year I learned, I start to perform very simple music. When I play as a young age, I don’t really know the content of the music, the sounds. I don’t understand well. So, just play the notes. No feeling maybe, not very well. The feeling’s not very well. When I get old, I understand the songs very well. So, I can express feelings and emotions very well.

[Hernán] When it was time for her to go to college, Wei got accepted into the School of Music and Recording Arts at the Communication University of China, an institute located in Beijing recognized for its accredited mass communications program. There, she obtained her Bachelor’s degree.

But soon afterwards, Wei pursued a master’s degree at the Guzheng Institute of China, also in Beijing. During her time there, Wei studied under the tutelage of Sha Yuan, a famous Guzheng musician.

[Wei] My teacher is very famous. She gives me so many chances to perform.

[Hernán] Back in China, Wei’s teacher Sha Yuan is a well-recognized Guzheng performer who has participated among many prestigious orchestras around the country. Orchestras like the China Philharmonic as well as both the “Beijing” and “Shanghai” Symphony Orchestras. Not only in China, but abroad as well like the Royal Swedish Philharmonic Orchestra, based in Stockholm.

In addition, Wei’s teacher is also recognized for the songs she’s performed. One of them being “The Fishing Boat Singing at Night”, for which we heard Wei perform earlier in this episode.

What you’re about to hear now, is another song for which Sha Yuan is famous for. The song “Hua Mulan” which she helped compose the Guzheng sounds for.

[Soundbyte — Hua Mulan played by Sha Yuan]

[Hernán] Under Sha Yuan, Wei learned to develop innovative concepts within her own musical arrangements. One of them, implementing a heptatonic, or seven-note, scale (usually utilized in modern western music) whenever playing the Guzheng. This meant, breaking-off from the traditional pentatonic scale (usually utilized in Asian music).

It’s because of this, Wei has been able to transcend her instrument into other genres.

[Wei] I’ve been played with jazz bands, and rock bands. Is very fun, so much fun. So, add a Chinese traditional one into pop music is a good experience. So, I can improve some new skills with my Guzheng.

– Part IV –

[Hernán] Coming from a family of musicians and studying under the tutelage of a well-recognized female artists like Sha Yuan, I figured Wei had already made a name for herself back in China, before coming to live in the United States.

Yet, despite her strong musical background, it turned out to be quite the opposite.

[Wei] In China, I don’t have enough time to perform. Just teaching, teaching the whole day.

[Hernán] Not only is Wei a professional musician, but a teacher as well. And while living in Shanghai, she taught Guzheng classes in front of up to four students on a daily basis.

Now, four may seem like a very small class to teach. But learning the Guzheng takes years of practice, and for each student to become proficient with the instrument, it is best one-on-one sessions.

[Wei] I told you the Guzheng is very famous, there are so many students. I can see the huge students so there’s not enough teachers for teaching them. Every Guzheng teacher so tired with so many students. Maybe I work five days, maybe the five days, eight hours. I work all eight hours.

[Hernán] Working nine-to-five shifts as a teacher, Monday through Friday, Wei had no time to pursue any performing gigs of her own. Her job demanded lots due to a high volume of Guzheng students per instructor.

[Wei] Before, I live alone in Shanghai. But I had a job in Shanghai so it’s very good. But I come to give it up. So, that’s why I came here so late because my work in China is so tiring. So, I want to change my life.

[Hernán] That is when she decided to migrate to the United States. Especially, to the big apple.

[Wei] I want to explore new world so when I got the chance to New York City for work, so I choose to come here.

[Hernán] But it was more than a chance to explore a new world, it was a chance for Wei to reconnect with her family. See, before migrating to the states, Wei’s parents and uncle had already established a life there.

[Wei] The first is my uncle who came here, yeah the first one. My uncle built his own company. Is about arts. So, my mom the second one, as a Erhu player, musician. She worked here as a musician. So, she got the green card then became a citizen. That’s why my father came here. So, when I got here, my parents wanted me to live with them for a while. To make up me.

[Hernán] Coming to America, became Wei Sun’s “Begin Again” moment. Because soon after settling with her parents in Flushing, Queens, she began to perform as a musician once again with the Chinese Music Ensemble of New York .

[Wei] At the beginning, I worked with a Chinese orchestra. There are so many Chinese musicians we played together.

[Hernán] Not only perform, but to teach as well. The only difference this time, she is able to teach one-on-one compared to a whole classroom full of students. This enables Wei to balance between performing gigs and classes.

[Wei] Because the students not very many as China, so that’s the difference. Here, I have time to perform. So, I think I found a good work surrounding here. It’s better for me. I teach both in Flushing and downtown Manhattan because there is so many Chinese people. This’ Chinese people area. So in Flushing there is so many new immigrants from the mainland and in downtown, Chinatown, Manhattan, there’s so many old immigrants. Is from Cantonese, maybe cantonese, fujian province. So, these two areas is so many Chinese people and A.B.C. You know A.B.C.? Chinese born in America. Yeah so, their parents let them children to know some Chinese culture, don’t give up. So, even though you born here, you have to know you are Chinese blood, bloodline. They should know some Chinese culture or instrument from the China. So its good way to learn some instrument, music, and any arts. Is good way to know more China.

[Hernán] Although Wei has found successful balance within her career, other struggles have emerged. Typical struggles one would say an individual “fresh-off the boat” faces.

[Wei] Of course, I have to face the new surroundings. Is a big, one of the biggest city in the world. There’s so many races here. So, I have to improve my english. That’s the first thing. My english not very well. So, I have to improve and I have to adapt the new concepts. There are so many differences from Chinese concepts in everywhere. Just because there is a new city for me, I have to make new city for me, I have to make new friends. There are so many people from different countries, they have different concepts. We have to communicate to try to let them understand. I think that’s a problem, that’s uhh… what was that? [struggle] that’s my struggle.

[Hernán] But that doesn’t stop her from continuing to pursue her career goals. In fact, as a Guzheng teacher in New York, Wei believes she will overcome her language barrier.

[Wei] There are several, some American students. So, I have to speak english to teach them. But some of them, most of them their family maybe has Chinese. So, that’s why they choose, they know Guzheng. Otherwise, they won’t know this instrument. Yeah, that’s a good way to push me to learn english. I think teaching in english is not hard for me. Always use professional words.

– Part V –

[Hernán] Nowadays, Wei continues to perform around the city, even in concert halls located in other states. But she understands that being a professional Guzheng player even can have an expiration date.

[Wei] I hope I can be the musician forever. But actually, I think not reality. So, I think teaching is my important career later. I will focus on my teaching career. So teaching will be my, the important schedule in my future life. So, I already plan to work with music center(s) to start the Chinese Guzheng class. Most of the class in Flushing.

– The End –

[Hernán] This story was written and produced by me, Hernán Goicochea. And if you enjoyed listening to this episode, stay tuned for next week.

This story can also be heard on Castbox, Spotify, SoundCloud, Apple or Google Podcasts

Writer & Producer: Hernán Goicochea

--

--