An Honest Resignation Letter

Kiara Butler
Diversity Talks
Published in
3 min readJan 10, 2023

--

It is with much love and hope that I am releasing this message into the universe. After founding and leading Diversity Talks for 5 years, I want to announce my intention to step down as CEO as of June 30, 2023.

Oftentimes when I read Chief Executive Officer resignation announcements, I feel as if there are so many words left unsaid — so many gaps in the story.

Because I have made a point to always be radically honest with y’all, I am going to do my best to fill in those gaps today, while acknowledging that I fundamentally believe in the power of this organization and its future. Diversity Talks must not just survive, but thrive, if we want to see a more anti-racist society.

I created Diversity Talks not only for its mission “to increase cultural competence in youth-serving organizations by equipping youth and adults to challenge societal standards upholding white supremacy”, but also because I was seeking liberation, and now I am resigning to preserve my peace. In short, I am tired. Most leaders of color are, and we aren’t being sustained by the philanthropic community, which is leading to irrevocable burn-out. While creating a lasting impact far beyond what I had envisioned to take place over the last 5 years, I want to be transparent when I say that being a Black start-up founder has not been easy. There was a constant minimizing of oppression and marginalization through fundraising requirements. I continuously navigated and occupied philanthropic spaces meant to be decolonized, and yet still replicated the oppressive systems that we are supposed to be fighting against.

I also had a vision for my organization — one that was anti-racist and liberating for people of marginalized identities. It’s rare that we have these spaces within corporate and other traditional workplace settings. Yet, there were decisions that had to be made that sometimes put the team and the organization at opposing ends, which proved to be taxing on me as a leader. Part of being a good leader is recognizing when it is time to pass the organization on to a new person who can navigate the current phase it is in, and I believe that day has come. This transition is in my best interest, DT’s, and hopefully the philanthropic community as a whole as it grapples with its own decolonization.

Over the next few months, I am confident that we can identify and recruit a new and vibrant leader to help the organization advance to the next level. In the years to come, I see myself coaching other organizational leaders to create successful anti-racist policies, practices, and workplaces by sharing my learnings and unlearnings as a start-up founder. I also plan to remain a part of the Diversity Talks team as a board member and advisor to ensure a streamlined succession. This work is incredibly important and the next leader will be chosen with much consideration and care.

We are accepting applications until February 28, 2023. If you are interested in applying, please send the following to info@diversitytalkspd.com with the subject “Executive Director Position”:

  • Your resume
  • Your response to the following questions:
  1. Why this opportunity? Why Diversity Talks?
  2. Tell us about your experience doing diversity, equity, inclusion, and anti-racism work.
  3. What is your management and leadership vision/philosophy? How does who you are inform this vision?

--

--

Kiara Butler
Diversity Talks

CEO + Founder of Unscripted Consult | Founder of Diversity Talks | Forbes 30 Under 30 | TEDx Speaker | Author