Putting Type In Motion with a Poignant Moment from Rick & Morty

I’ve started on the first draft of my kinetic typography project.

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
A Designer’s Diary

--

Storyboard Tile by Author | Quote from Rick & Morty

This week, I’ve pulled my storyboard of this project into After Effects. This is my first time using After Effects and I’m quite excited to finally learn the missing puzzle piece in my knowledge of Creative Cloud’s most common applications. For a little bit more on what brought me to choosing this scene from Rick and Morty to turn into a kinetic typography video, I’m including my first update on this project below.

I watched Title Sequence Designer Saul Bass’ short documentary Bass On Titles before I dove into revising my storyboard for this project. I wanted to take inspiration from his discussion on using the symbolism of the movie to inspire his design choices for the title sequence.

When he discussed how the unnerving events like In Harm’s Way and how he set the stage symbolically by breaking apart the title like a character in the movie is broken and reconstructed, I thought it was a brilliant example of how…

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
A Designer’s Diary

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.